Posted: Sat Mar 08, 2008 6:18 pm Post subject: Wagga Correspondent Checking In!
Hi All,
Its been pretty quiet down this way on the fishing front since I left the Territory, however settling and managed to pick myself up a new rig yesterday....see pics.
Hopefully I can catch enough fish down this way to post occassionally, although nothing will compare to the monsters you guys will be posting during the runoff.
Heading out tomorrow with alocal guide chasing Murray Cod, its apparently a preety good time of year for them so hopefully I'll have something to report tomorrow.
In the interim here are some pics of my new boat
A few stats:
4.6m Elegant plate boat
60hp Merc 4 stroke EFI
55lb Minn Kota leccy on the bow.
2 livewells
CD player and a shed load of storage.
Lowrance X85 and Navman GPS main
Lowrance X52 on bow.
Craig
Last edited by temp on Sat Mar 08, 2008 6:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Posted: Sat Mar 08, 2008 6:41 pm Post subject:
The boat looks an absolute ripper All the bling in a nice compact unit.
Good luck with the cod
_________________ Live it and ENJOY
Nice looking boat Temp....spent some time in Wagga (airforce....disharged Nov 07) myself late eighties and you do have some nice trout lakes a few hours drive away, hopefully they are not to low these days. Lake Eucumbene being my favourite was always kind to me especially night time flyfishing as well as early morning trolling sessions.You certainly have a wide choice of options available down that way...................keep us posted and look forward to seeing some pics of some nice trout.
good to hear from you Temp nice looking rig you have there you arnt planning to get back up here are you that boat would fit in quite well ,I hope you get some fish in it soon mate good luck.
Posted: Sat Mar 08, 2008 7:54 pm Post subject:
Thanks guys,
I must admit I'm just glad to have a boat again, the fact that this one is a HUGE upgrade is a bonus
Max,
Its got quite a high freeboard so I reckon I'd feel reasonably safe up there in it, provide you don't go rousing up 4m+ croc jobby's by hooking them in the gob with a lure
Backlash,
I'm a RAAFie and will probably head to Eucumbene in a couple of weeks to give her a run and try and tame a couple of the local trout population to blood her.
2Rods.
I'm pretty confident I can see some scales over the side pretty quickly, unfortunately they may not be quite as big as those found up your way.
Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2008 8:19 pm Post subject:
Went out witha local guide on Sunday chasing a few Murray Cod with a mate. Managed 6 Small Murray Cod up to 50cm and 1 Trout Cod in the mid 40's range. All fish were caught on spinner baits. Casting accuracy was imperative with the fish holding right in hard against the snags. we did have a troll and dropped a fish that would've undoubtedly been the biggest of the day
Certainly learnt hepas so hopefull I can tangle with one of those XOS Cod that we knew were in there but just not willing to play the game.
Craig
Last edited by temp on Thu Mar 13, 2008 8:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 10:03 am Post subject:
Good stuff Temp, good looking rig, nice and comfy for those long cold runs up to Providence or down to Frying Pan, get hold of AFN Map 9 for all the guff on Eucumbene.
Eunoni (sp) Bridge used to be the go for good cod, got my first there about 30 odd years ago. I vaguely remember going to a spot somewhere near the Red Steer, that used to produce. I don't even know if the Steer is still going! I'm starting to get carried away
Keep those photo's coming.....love those piccy's of Green Fish.
_________________ Blinky
"I'd like to have a beer-holder on my guitar like they have on boats" "You want heavy?..............we'll give you heavy" James Hetfield
"Gus is dead.......we've got work to do" Walter White