River fishing in NSW - Tamworth

Wags

River fishing in NSW - Tamworth

Post by Wags »

Just moved to tamworth from Darwin and keen to keep up the fishing if possible. Unfortunately I've got even less idea about cod than barra.

Any tips or suggestions for this type of fishing/this area or where to get good info?

Wags

Re: River fishing in NSW - Tamworth

Not sure about cod fishing in that area tamworth, but cod fishing in general is a lot slower than fishing for barra. Barometer is really really important a rising high steady barometer is good, or a fast falling one when a storm is around. If its low and steady can be tough.
Dont expect same sort action (fish numbers , strikes etc) as fishing for barra or the same sort fighting abilities . But also a lot pros, no humidity no bugs can swim when ever you like no salt stuffing all ya stuff. And you will find it hard to find a better looking fish inmo, plenty other targets to yellas redfin tec.
Tend to get cod deep, trolling larger deep divers threw snags rockbars etc, spinnerbaits are really good to.
There is a dam around that area that fishes really well few dvds out on it, can try find out names dvds if ya want brothers got them at home. good luck :mrgreen:
Wags

Post by Wags »

Cheers mate, good info. I'll take it on board.
COOPS

Post by COOPS »

find deep holes with some good structure around and use bardi grubs, yabbies, cheese (buy the cubed tasty cheese), shrimp, worms etc. Early morning and arvo or night is best.

trolling deep diving lures like codgers etc can get good fish as well. i had the most success with purple, and also brown codgers.
ken_gilchrist

Post by ken_gilchrist »

Depends what you want to fish for. Bass and cod are the main target but there is also plenty of carp around down there( rubbish fish but still good fun) any were on the Peel river will provide you some of these, I used to fish under the bridge in Kootingal (about 8km out) and there was always a carp or two to keep it amusing. Just find the Cop shop in Kooty and you will find the bridge. There is also a spot called Broady which is on the Kootingal-Limbri Rd, I know they used to catch bass and cod along there. Not too sure now, It's a nice drive up through the hills either way that loops back around to Nundle,Dungowan or Manilla depending on what turns you make.
The local in Kooty also has a fishing club that do trips oput to the dams and rivers regulary and might be worth a look, not sure if this is too far out of your way but it's a nice little pub (you would no doubt bump into the old man there at some stage).

Vegetarian - Ancient tribal slang for the village idiot that can't hunt or fish.

grab 10 or so differant size and colour stumpies ( stumpjumpers from the net )

cant go wrong and easy to get off snags

trioll past stucture like the boys above said and you cant go wrong

cheers bm
Wags

Post by Wags »

Cheers for the advice fellas. Going out this Sunday in the kayak with someone who knows what they're doing. Hopefully pick up a few fish.
Will let you know how it goes.

good luck mate. don't forget to slip slop slap. :rofl:
Sullo

Post by Sullo »

Split rock dam,Lake keepit and Chaffey dam are all within about 60ks.Chaffey has trout as well.