Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 9:37 am Post subject: Hume Dam trip
We went down south to Albury & Hume Dam for a Comp.
Got there late Friday , due to other not being organised, & late getting away , (So much for a quick fish in the arvo.).
Boys had a few & a , finally hit the sack around 1.30am. Up at 6.00 beautifukl day, got on the water at ....8.35... Wind came up stright away, blowing at 20/30kph, made the trip across the Dam pretty rough... Set up trollig runs, all we got was small, small reddies..went to bigger l;ures, nothing....seemed averyone was doing it tough. Cooked op some lunch in the boat, boys were happy with that....Went to North end of Dam after lunch...found a couple of good spots, then Bang , ON !, got a yella whuich ended uop masuring 55cm but was fat as, Quick Kodak moment & off to find a measuring boat....couldnt find away Had to head off to measuring station at Ramp about 3kl away, the poor old Honda got the biggest hiding she was flat with nothing more left !.
Got to the station got it measured, at 55cm, measuring marshals tell me thats one of the biggest theyve seen all weekend but they heard of anoother at 63cm !! , released him to find he wouldnt swin away, so I walked him for about 30minutes, no go, gave it to the marshals as they wanted it to eat !, way too fatty for me. Went back to the "Spot" and trolled all around , started a bit of casting but no go..O. Headed back to ramp on sunset, had a run with a 5m Hornet with an 80 Yammie & found the 75 Honda could just edge away...
Big dinner saturday night , lots of anothe rlate night.
Up at 6.30 Sunday headed off to "the Spot" trolled, n trolled n trolled n cast n cast got 3 tiny reddies ..
Poor fishing , but boys had a good time.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post. _________________ Angry
"I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was blaming you"
Do not argue with an idiot. He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.
Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 4:27 pm Post subject: Re: Hume Dam trip
theodosius wrote:
Beautiful spot!
Yeah its not bad, but i usually fish up around Tumut & Jugion on either Blowering or Burrinjuck & as Rossco can tell you its a fair bit nicer scenery, Humes OK though.
Davey D wrote:
Certainly is a hell of alot fuller now then when i lived across the road from there two years ago. Great fish by the way i love how fat they get
We had an absolutley crackin storm with floods last October I reclkon nearly all the dams around went form 20/50% up to 99/100% within a week, water everywhere. We fish blowering a lot & you really get some Pigs of Yellas up there.
ponyplay wrote:
Solid fish , dont blame ya for not wanting to eat him. Be a bit fatty
Yeah Ive kept them up till about 50cm, but even though this is a 55 its really fat .....too fat for me.
_________________ Angry
Do not argue with an idiot. He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.
Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 6:52 pm Post subject: Re: Hume Dam trip
She is a fatty, nice fish Angry. Pitty it was only one but she is a gooden'
Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 11:26 pm Post subject: Re: Hume Dam trip
Sy wrote:
Nice pics angry!
Were you out near the Holbrook Ski club area?Thx
Yep you guessed it, across the southern side from there
[quote="Gibbo"]Gday Angry my brother and his mate fished the same comp pretty sure they said they talked to you here,s a pic of the only yella they got cheers
Gibbo was your brother in his mates Stacer Barra , a lime green one >??? witha 75 Honda on it ??? if so I know your bros mate
_________________ Angry
Posted: Thu Nov 17, 2011 11:44 pm Post subject: Re: Hume Dam trip
I only fished Hume at the Comp .
Npormally fish Burrinjuck or Blowering, when its warmer summer months we troll heaps at night, my boat os all set up with LEDs under the gunwhales & GPS is brillaint for trolling runs at night
Albury is about 1 1/2 hrs from home, Blowerin is 1hr 10min, Burrinjuck is nearly 2 hrs right to the State Park after going down the side of the mountain on the goat rack of a raod....just ask Rossco !!
We must a caught about 50/60 reddies & not one of the buggers was bigger than 10cm !!!, we started using bigger lures to get the bigger Yellas to bite & it worked, with that Yella hitting a 90mm AC, but it also stops the reddies from attacking a lure bigger than themselves !!
_________________ Angry
Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 2:18 pm Post subject: Re: Hume Dam trip
Great fish Angry, that's the most water I have ever seen in the Hume over twenty years. Fantastic
_________________ The gods do not deduct from man's allotted span the hours spent in fishing. ~Babylonian Proverb