great report Jonesy it doesnt matter what your catching or where it is its good to see other peoples backyards,my missus comes from West. Vic. so have fished the Glenelg a bit its a beautifull river even if all the speed restrictions drive you mad.
Posted: Wed Jan 28, 2009 5:53 pm Post subject:
Great stuff Jonesy, you're bringin' a tear to me eye with all this talk of Seven Gates, the Snow Goose, Yens Bay, Frying Pan etc etc. I spent a lot of my younger days wandering the area.
I live for the day the Anglers Reach Holiday Village or Caravan Park comes up for sale again................I'd buy either in a heartbeat!
If the tackle store in the Caravan Park isn't he best I've ever been in, well, I'll stand rootin'!
Hawk, I remember one time we stayed in an on site van at Providence, when Sven used to run it, he had nothing but cold pies for us to eat. It was freezin' cold and we couldn't get the gas stove working until Sven told us we needed tokens; we've bought a big pile of them and fed them into the stove to get the van warmed up. But no matter how high we turned up the gas the van was still cold, until about 5 hours later one bright spark worked out that the main vent in the roof was wide open, all our hot air was just belting straight out through the roof vent
_________________ Blinky
"I'd like to have a beer-holder on my guitar like they have on boats" "You want heavy?..............we'll give you heavy" James Hetfield
"Gus is dead.......we've got work to do" Walter White
You might want to hold off on buying Anglers Reach Blinky,and wait and see if this drought ever ends. There's only 8 meters of water at the moment in front of the park,this time last year it was just the river believe it or not! I should of taken some pictures of it all. That bay on the right hand side as you drive into anglers reach,is non exsistant. The lake is way way down the bottom of the hill now.It's hard to see how things are going to come good for all these places. One wet year isn't going to fix things,we need 4-5 on the trot. Maybe they should ban all forms of farming for three years,that would help us fisherman,who cares if it sends the farmers bankrupt and the country,it's all about us for once
Providence must be doing it tough,they haven't had water up that end for a couple of years
great report Jonesy it doesnt matter what your catching or where it is its good to see other peoples backyards,my missus comes from West. Vic. so have fished the Glenelg a bit its a beautifull river even if all the speed restrictions drive you mad.
Haha,yes,those restrictions are a joke. I don't tend to adhere to them,apart from around the town itself. Also spent the day fishing the South Aus part,so i didn't have to where a hideous lifejacket all day like you do on the Vic side,God I hate that new rule (could save my life one day but)
Went up to Eucembene again for easter. Stayed at Buckendera this time,first time there,not a bad location and set up,will be the prefered location from now on I think.
The fishing was ok, trolling was pretty ordinary but. Only landed 6 on the troll for the entire trip. Did not get one hit on a tassie devil,or on the downrigger or leadline. Every hit came on a little rebel crickhopper flatlining,only had about a 30% hook up rate but. Will be getting my hand on some more of these if I go back up.
Mudeyes on dark worked well,although we ran out on the second night.Every store in the district did not have any in stock by easter saturday,pretty ordinary for there busiest weekend of the year.
Didn't get much chance with the fly as there was lightning flicking around the first 2 nights,but the last night had a go on dark and it was 'NZ'ish for an hour or so. I only landed 2,but hooked 7-8 in an hour. Mate landed a good Brown also on fly. Mrs Simpson and Black Wooly buggers were the go
Posted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 2:41 pm Post subject:
Nice fishing jonesy, I just ate a can of Atlantic salmon - the best canned fish I've had - maybe you should buy a tinning machine, are the salmon in Euc or Jindabyne?
Spose you would sleep in the eskie to stay warm on an overnighter
I think there's a few Salmon in Jindabyne,but not many I don't think. Funnily on the last morning,I hooked a fish,it 'barra esque' jumped 7 times out of the water,none of the rainbows jumped when we got them on the troll,and it was very slim....was about 100 meters out the back so couldn't get a great look before i lost it,but I reckon it was a atlantic salmon...unsure if they've done any stockings recently,have to have a look
Yeah luckily the nights were pretty good as we had thunderstorms on the fri/sat nights so kept the frosts away,although the last morning there was ice all over the cracker..