Posted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 2:08 pm Post subject: Bread & Butter Fishing
Luderick , Rock Blackfish (Drummer) and Rock Cale have been on the chew this week at Wallaga Lake. I have managed some huge luderick from inside the lake as well as from the ocean when the swell is down. The big luderick in the lake are obviously waiting like me for the ocean to break through. I caught 10 luderick this morning on local green weed not 5 minutes walk from the house. I kept 5 for the table (visitors tonight) and released the others. The rock cale are not a popular table fish on the east coast and stories like ‘boil the boot and eat it before the fish’ and ‘ not too good for the table, in fact try the table 1st’ spring to mind ! I kept one the other day to test fate. I bled, filleted and skinned it and then soaked it in milk for 8 hours. 12 hours would have been better but it was actually palatable in the end with lemon and pepper and some thyme for good measure. I shall leave the rest in the sea for future generations. I just love this bread and butter fishing that this country has, no matter where you travel.
I added a picture of the local cabbage weed that I have been using off the ocean rocks for people’s info. Cheers
Posted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 3:25 pm Post subject:
We use to catch them (or should I say you could if you want to) down in Vic (Inverloch). There were heaps and easy to catch. Only tried to eat them once and they smelt pretty bad when I filletted them. (I think it was the iodine in them). Gave them to the mother inlaw.
Posted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 8:43 pm Post subject:
luderick are good on the chew matt...but you just need to strip the black lining from them, and of course bleed them and get em onto ice like any other fish.
my mum loves em
_________________ Cheers
Posted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 10:57 pm Post subject:
Nice one mate, must be one of the only targeted species where you could go to the Fruit and Veg section of Woolies to buy bait! It they hit Cabbage Weed surely they wouldnt go past coral lettuce!
Posted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 11:13 am Post subject:
nice fish pa good to see that the lake is still fishing well...
i remember years ago when the lake was closed, but we were there when it was about to open. there was a big swell rolling over the sandbar at the mouth. heaps of fish were trying to get out, bream, flathead. we were running around catching them... then a huge wave came and dumped a school of ludrick on the beach. the water receeded and left 6 biggens flopping on the sand. me and rossco walked over and grabed them and headed home for a feed