Posted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 11:40 am Post subject: cairns reef trip!
First trip to Arlington reef with the missus and we wasnt havin much luck, i am a novice when it comes to reef fishing so after losing much tackle to the reef i was fed up and deciced to try one more spot in the deeper water before giving up... Within 15 mins we had two 50cm coral trout in the esky and literally only had to count to 20 seconds everytime the line hit the water before we got a hit or pulled in some good fighting undersized fish. On one cast the line screamed off and after much fight i could see the huge shape wrapped around the anchor rope, so we pulled the rope and the line in at the same time and luckly scored this 80cm Jobfish ....The smaller fish kept on coming but not far away we seen the birds hitting the water so we put out the trolling line and hit a 80cm tuna within 5mins, dropped the spoon back in while i dealt with the tuna and bang the line took off like a bat outa hell, we actually were not even moving when it struck and after great effort i got the huge spanish mack on top of the water close to the boat and in one burst he came off, i reckon he was near 150cm... I was alot disapointed by losing the mack but hey we had a great day and heaps of fun and got a nice feed , it was the first time i had caught any of these fish any cant wait for the next trip with many lessons learnt. Thanx for the tips from sites likes this and watching many fishing programs, im now a fishing nut!
Attachment:
jobfish.jpg
Posted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 12:49 pm Post subject: Re: cairns reef trip!
Well done peg, did you try trolling out from the leads??? There's a couple of really good trout spots on Arlington, get a ph, got some tips, and the number for me fishin' partner over there. He's got all our GPS marks.
_________________ " YOUTH is a GIFT " "AGE is an ART ""Doesn't mean you get any smarter..just wrinkled and cracked".