Posted: Mon Feb 04, 2008 10:01 pm Post subject: Ashmore Reef
It started with a phone call sat morning from a mate to see if the mimister of war and finance would let my go for a week fishing. There was three of us in the boat and gone by 430pm. The wife needed some her time atleast thats what i used to convince her
6 and a half hours later we were out there 150 miles from home and 50 miles of the shelf. the weather was grest glass the whole way out and the rest of the week.
First three days saw us chasing sails and big tuna but only barracuda and big sharks wanting to play the game Managed to tease two up with the final result being sails 2 us none. one hook up and lost the other hit the teaser then legged it or should i say finned it. There was the occasional teenage yellow fin thrown in to keep us interested. On the third arvo we happened onto a patch of maccys with 5 boated all over 25kgs and a few small ones as well with the esky starting to look better we headed back to murray island for resupply of fuel and ice and a nights sleep on terra-firma.
The plan of attack for the next day and night was to fill the esky up with reefies (reds, nannys and goldies(finger mark)as they call them over here.
Well the day was slow so we just spent it beach coaming and waiting for dark. Well after a heart feed and a quick up close inspection of a turtle laying her eggs we were of to slay some fish.
Well the bite was ferocious (spell) for about an hour and a half with baits hardly hitting the bottom begore requiring retreival. many red emperor nannies and goldies were caught and the odd spangaled emperor thrown in for variety. The bite seemed to shut down as the moon came up with the final fish landed being a large GT. well that was enough for me to call it quits as we had an esky full and the time was about 2am. And we still had to clean the fish.
Alot of firsts were achieved with me catching my first red emperor and mark catching his first red and biggest goldy, just fitted it in before he moves back down to the murray river to chase cod
All in all a great trip. Highlight would have hade to been bottom bashing with a tiagra 50 for sh!ts and giggles and cranking fish up on low gear 1:1. Although thats not really fishing
no it wasnt a charter just the local publican Dave's boat.
Totla stats for the trip 487miles and 900 litres of fuel.
Pagey
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post. _________________ a day at work is a day wasted Silence is Golden, and Duct tape is SILVER
"Fool proof systems do not take into account the ingenuity of fools." -Ken Clayton
'When the world is made to be idiot-proof, the world will become overpopulated with idiots.'
Posted: Mon Feb 04, 2008 10:24 pm Post subject:
Jason we left from Thursday Island (TI)
2rods its a sea prowler made down the gold coast i believe. went quite well.
It would have been a lot further away if the boat wasnt fitted with a auto pi;lot intergrated into the navman plotter to drive there for us all we had to do was ensure our XXXXgold cans were full and frostie and that it didnt decide to drive off on its own course which it didnt.
Pagey
_________________ a day at work is a day wasted Silence is Golden, and Duct tape is SILVER
"Fool proof systems do not take into account the ingenuity of fools." -Ken Clayton
'When the world is made to be idiot-proof, the world will become overpopulated with idiots.'
Posted: Mon Feb 04, 2008 10:58 pm Post subject:
Yeah Jason there is one off the shelf over here mate spun me out the first time i seen it as well. Its about 40 miles east of murray island which is the most eastern island of the torres strait. out near east cay at the entrance of the north west channel which is the north entrance of the shipping channel.
Pagey
_________________ a day at work is a day wasted Silence is Golden, and Duct tape is SILVER