Posted: Sun Apr 25, 2010 10:10 am Post subject: Townsville - the mystery of when to fish
G'day all,
I recently experienced the frustrations of fishing for Barra once again. I spent a whole weekend fishing a local river with a mate [FFF - justfishn] for one lonely MJ (a nice 48cm fish) in the esky. We were fishing a comp and would have spent at least 24 hours of the weekend with a line in the water. We caught 2 rat Barra, 1 bream, 2-3 cod and the lone MJ. The rest of my club experienced similar results - they were all shut down........
Cam went back on the following Wednesday and the fish were switched back on. For an approx six hour fish he boated approx 25 fish with one mid sixty Barra put on ice. The rest were mostly infant MJ.
That convinced me to head back with him on Thursday. We ended up taking home 2 Barra, 1 MJ and a small Salmon. The MJ were prolific and the action was so much better than on the weekend.
That's fishing to a T I suppose!!!
Gammo
PS. Here's to all those who served and are currently serving overseas on behalf of the ADF. Keep up the ANZAC spirit
PSS. GO THE BOMBERS