Lets see, Lure burried in my nipple, guide with 2 sets of trebbles in his leg, guide with trebble in his neck, guide with lure in his ear (photo below)
Do you think there is a pattern here with my fishing?
Posted: Mon Jul 17, 2006 9:29 am Post subject: hookup
Best I have seen is a mate, and he knows who he is on here, get impaled down the daly then faint and fall over, hit the throttle box and open his head up requiring stitches, plus his missus had to learn real quick to drive the boat. Funny day that one.
chanos.
_________________ Fishing is not a matter of life and death, it is far more serious than that.
Posted: Mon Jul 17, 2006 4:31 pm Post subject:
just for info i didnt require stitches but the hook was in pretty good
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post. _________________ a day at work is a day wasted Silence is Golden, and Duct tape is SILVER
"Fool proof systems do not take into account the ingenuity of fools." -Ken Clayton
'When the world is made to be idiot-proof, the world will become overpopulated with idiots.'
Posted: Tue Aug 15, 2006 4:11 pm Post subject:
In an act of total stupidity I tried to move a 92 cm barra that had just been bought into the boat and placed on top of my esky by grabbing the body of the lure. Sure enough the barra timed it's powerful flap perfectly and embedied the hook deep into my middle finger as it fell to the floor of the boat.
There I was in agony with the hook of a classic deep in my finger while the flip flopping barra was still attached to the same lure.
My mate cut the fish off and we went back to Woolianna. There one of the campers had a go at removing the hook with a method he had successfully used before. While I sat down with my hand on a table this bloke tied braid around the hook. I closed my eyes and he yanked as hard and as quickly as he could. Guess what it did not come out. The pain was so intense that my wife thought I was going to faint and poured a bucket of cold water over me.
Now I was in even more pain, in shock, and soaking wet.
The poor bloke was so apolagetic. He had tried his best and I was keen to get the bl..dy thing out so I could get back on the river.
I was then driven to the Daly River Community where two bairfoot aboriginal nurses injected a local ansthetic and cut the hook out with a scalpal and sent me on my way with some antibiotics. I was very impressed by thier proffesionalism (despite their bair feet). They new exactly what they were doing and removed the hook methodically with no long term inplications to my finger. They saw me straight away, fixed the finger perfectly and gave me a course of antbiotics for free. If it had been Darwin Hopsital I probably would have been waiting for 4 hours, had to pay for the medication and probably ended up with an infection.
Was down the Roper with a few work mates a last year. we all (4 Boats) steamed off early in the morning to our destination 80 k down the river all was good. wasnt until about 1 o'clock that arvo that we decided to head back and check out a few spots on the way back to the camping spot when we came across one of our pack that couldn't keep and decided to stay close to the camping spot and fish the snags and so on. by this time it was about 4 that arvo we cruised over to see how they did for the day and one of the lads was sitting on the bow of the boat drinking Rum cans, so you could imagine what sort of state he was in after drinking them all day. he then took his shirt off and turned his back towards us and there was half a hook hanging out of the middle of his back (Barb on) apparently this happened on the first cast of the day. it then took a quite a bit of surgery to remove this bugger as they had cut it about 5 mil from the barb only just enough to get a set of pliers on to it and push it through.
_________________ The way to a fishermans heart is through his fly!!
Posted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 9:34 am Post subject: Hooks
Never hooked myself but removed a few from mates. Had a queenie embed one in me years ago but he tore it out straight away so didnt even get a chance to enjoy it really \
\
chanos
_________________ Fishing is not a matter of life and death, it is far more serious than that.
Posted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 9:49 am Post subject:
a mate was fishing on the roper years ago when a boat drifted past that
appeared to have no one it, when he went over to check it out
he found a bloke laying in the bottom of the boat with both hands hooked up
to a lure attached to a barra, he said he was waiting for it to die
poor bugger.
_________________ From the heart of the channel country.
To be old and wise, one has to have been young and stupid !!!
Posted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 2:08 pm Post subject:
Have had a total of four hooks in me to date, all barbed and in deep. The ugliest one was years ago out at Yellow Waters with the front treble of a Classic straight through my finger and the rear treble attached to a lively barra which was yet to be landed. Mate forgot his landing net so we were lifting fish into the boat until this one launched out of the water into my hand just as I grabbed the leader. After struggling to get the fish under control the hook came out easily after cutting the barb off and strangley didn't hurt all that much during the whole incident.
The award for the most painful went to my last effort fishing with mates out at Maningrida earlier this year. Had a small but very energetic barra come loose of the berkley grips whilst in the boat and proceed to go nuts flipping around with the end result being the front treble of another Classic buried right under my big toe nail, all the way in . Apart from the first one I have got all of them out looping heavy line over the bend in the hook, holding the eye of the hook down to depress the barb and getting someone to pull the line very quickly (then run and hide). This method has always worked for me, but must be closely followed by numerous alcoholic beverages.
Travis
_________________ Born to Fish!!!
Forced to Work.....
Barra have to be the most lethal fish when it comes to throwing hooks at you once they are in the boat!
My uncle earlier this year went out with his young son.His son was mucking around with a lure,put one treble through my uncles ear,the other one knocked the lens out of sunnies,and embedded into the corner of his eye!! I'm not sure how that is possible....Needless to say a trip to the Hospital was required,where they had a great laugh he said!