Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 1:21 pm Post subject: A Fisihng Fluke
G'day forum,
As you know in fishing sometimes the fluke comes a long.
Always unexpected and always welcomed.
Took my work mate 'Pom' to the Larrakia rock wall. We were just soaking some baits, catching barracouta and small reefies. Pommy was mucking around between two rods, one had a half a pilly the other a livie.
Well that half pilly went off, right off.. the back off the boat, to the depths.
"sorry mate that sucks!". i say
"not even my rod" Pom tells me.
10 mins later 'pom' checks his livie, "i think i got something" ... it was his sunken rod... And still on the end of that sunken rod, a nice Golden Trevally.
Pom was pretty happy with that.
This brings me to the Flukes folks Would love to hear some other 'Flukes' in the N.T
My big bro told me a few...
One was , him and this boys were flicking at shoal bay, My bro, retrieved his lure and left it floating next to the boat (Half way through lighting his ciggy, BAM! Nice Barra.
Another was Jewie story, I think as it went, the boys were using big ass handlines, Old mate lost his to the anchor rope, at least he thought. when it was Time to pull anchor BAM Jewie.
Highscores:1
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 3:04 pm Post subject: Re: A Fisihng Fluke
Fluke of a lifetime!!
2008 Barra nationals, first trawl of the morning bamm!!!. Christo one of the boys on the boat rod bends nearly in half. big fish!! get the rod out of the holder to fight the barra. gets it all the way up to the boat, the barra does the bolt. Christo who had just put sunscreen on loses the lot rod, reel and fish. About $900 worth of gear over the side.
He did make a noise, just takes it all in. riggs up his other rod so he can continue fishing.(if it was me i would have exploded)
2 hours later after leaving the spot where we were fishing (cause it was bad luck), we thought we would go back and give it another go. firrst trawl back the skipper spots a lure stuck in weeds on the bank calls out to christo " What type of lure were you using before" to which he replied " something similar to that one.
We head over to check it out, pull the lure out of the weeds and attached to the lure is his rod and reel. unbelievable!!!!!!!!
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 3:05 pm Post subject: Re: A Fisihng Fluke
Awesome topic and stories. Heard of a few miraculous events on the water.
The luckiest thing thats happened to me was catching my rod as it popped out of the road holder while I was mucking around with the stereo. Had a 104cm barra attached, still my PB.
I now let the big Bomber lures swim by themselves. No need to twitch them.
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 3:28 pm Post subject: Re: A Fisihng Fluke
Good stories
while trolling the Blue holes a few years back, hooked a good GT near the boat, peeled some line and busted the 6kg mono on the reef, damn lost it! Went fishing all different areas and came back for a troll about 3 hours later on the incoming tide, was about 300 metres from where i lost the fish, hooked the old line and pulled the poor fish in, got the lure back,
unluckiest fish i reckon to be still hooked up, specially on the mono, unhooked him and let the poor bugger go!!!
_________________ If there is water and it holds fish, then it is fun trying to fool them into eating what you offer!!
Highscores:25
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 4:58 pm Post subject: Re: A Fisihng Fluke
Hahahahaha great stories.
The other week I took a mate to the mouth of rapid creek. I was flicking a popper and he was flicking his brand new gold bomber. He lost his bomber to a rock. He them switched to a popper and around 20 casts later was crying about my new popper being stuck. I asked how the he'll he got a snag On a popper in the mouth. After getting it unstuck attached was his gold bomber. Complete luck
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 7:04 pm Post subject: Re: A Fisihng Fluke
I was fishing off Spoil Bank in Port Headland with the missus and young bloke flicking a few softies around on light gear Had a good strike and was immediately busted off,main line from the swivel Anyway rigged up again and busy flicking around and getting a few trevs for the next half hour The missus who loves to flick those useless little shiny wonder wobblers around says I'm on and the fish she hooked on her 3kg outfit was doing its best to try an relieve her of the line on her reel She plays it in and as it comes to the sands edge from the depths we notice the little wonder wobbler is out of the water by 2 feet and the fish a nice GT is still in the waters edge at the sand Stike me down dead if I tell a lie ,she had put the trebble of that wonder wobbler through the eye of the swivel of the rig I lost on the strike half an hour earlier How are the odds of that
_________________ The past is history,the future is mystery,the moment is a gift and that's why it's called the present
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 9:49 pm Post subject: Re: A Fisihng Fluke
Growing up in Gove, as a young bloke, I was fishing the creek straight across from the export warf with a one armed bloke called Lefty. Was trying to get a few jacks on bait when one slammed me and took me into the snags. Got the rig free and started to bring a bit of the snag back to the boat. But it wasn't a snag. I had hooked a rod in the end eyelet and bought it aboard with baitcaster attached. It was a Silstar Powertip rod (the old pistol grip style) and a ABU 6500 Syncro (a wonderment of technology back then). It was pretty banged up and corroded so I stripped and re-built the rod and sent away to Sweden for a new spool, bearings and level wind for the reel, along with a letter explaining the story. They were wrapped in the story, so sent back the parts for free. Anyway, after re-birthing the outfit I was showing a mate from across the street when his father came over and said that it looked like the outfit he had lost a couple of years ago. I asked him where he'd lost it and he described the exact location, in the exact creek where I found it. Turns out it had been pulled overboard by an unkown culprit. Bugger, I thought as I handed back his newly fruited setup. But he declined saying I had done a geat job restoring it and that I should keep it. That was 22 years ago. I have many outfits since then but it has never missed a beat and I used to like pulling the old girl out for run every now and then. Sadly, only a couple of years ago, the rod broke trying to pull up a horse in a set of rapids on the Ord River but I still have the reel, wrapped in cloth in the special cupboard. Now only to be bought out for nostalgic yarns such as this one.
Great Idea for a forum topic and some great reads here fella's.
Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 9:13 am Post subject: Re: A Fisihng Fluke
In the 80s theold man and me were fishing no 1 billabong at nourlangi kakadu. Almost every cast was a barra about 55cm. The old man looses a abu lure ( the type with the adgustable bib). The fish contunues to jump every so aften with the lure in it's gob. I cast out and get a barra it turns out to be the same fish with the lure in its gob. We caught over 20 barra for 1/2 an hour then it went dead didnot catch a fish in that spot for the next 3 days. in onnother year In the same billobong we caught the same barra on 3 sepatate occasions.It had a old scar on it's side from a crock.
Bank:
Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 11:15 am Post subject: Re: A Fisihng Fluke
Top Story....
_________________ Three-fourths of the Earth's surface is water, and one-fourth is land. It is quite clear that the good Lord intended us to spend triple the amount of time fishing as taking care of the lawn. ~Chuck Clark
Highscores:1
Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 12:57 pm Post subject: Re: A Fisihng Fluke
Fishing the culverts along the ahrnem highway. fished everywhere from Darwin to southaligator for nothing.
got to this one culvert on the side of the road, got a few rats, and a legal baz.
anyway it went pretty quiet. then to top it of i got snagged
get pulling it and it finally came free, realised i hooked someones line. started pullin it up with a drop bear attached. kinda happy with that a free lure, then it just kept coming, rod and reel combo, AWSOME
Shimano Calais and a G Loomis rod.
Both worked fine, started fishing with it to try it out, hadn't been in the water for too long, worked pretty well, a little bit crunchy.
ended up getting another 73cm Baz on it, gotta be happy with that.
Cleaned it up and its good as gold
_________________ Any Barra is a good barra. from 13cm to 105cm
Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 1:06 pm Post subject: Re: A Fisihng Fluke
Fluking amatuers
Wait till you hear this story. Every word of it is absolutely true blue. Happened about ten years ago.
My mate Kim went overseas and left his Hilux with me for safe keeping. Yes I giggled too but he left it with me anyway.
So I arrived at Shady Camp ready for a big days fishing but when I looked at the front of the Hilux my heart fell....the grill off the front was gone. Damn I thought...must have fallen off at that crossing by the billabong...it will have been crushed by now with the huge amount of traffic that day. I fished on regardless and at the end of the day headed back to town under a full moon.
Going past the billabong I noticed a chunk of plastic sitting right in the middle of the road. It was the grill. Completely unscratched with just the little clips broken off. No the story doesnt end there.
I got back home and zip tied it back on from the inside. You would never know. Not even worth mentioning it to Kim. I mentally patted myself and my good fortune on the back.
Three months later Im sitting at Kims place. Its three in the morning, a bunch of mates around, many beeries have been drunk. I decide to fess up.
Mud "Hey Kim I meant to tell you about the grill on the Hilux"
Kim "Oh yeah I've been meaning to say something about that"
Mud "Yeah I know I should have told you sooner"
Kim "You didnt have to do that you know...I was happy that you were looking after it."
Mud "Huh?"
Kim "Putting a new grill on it. Thats awesome. It fell off shortly after I bought it. Been meaning to replace it for years.
Not a word of a lie.
_________________ Its not a crisis unless there is blood around. If there is blood around......well its a police matter...