Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 1:38 pm Post subject: Re: A Fisihng Fluke
good one Mud, thats the sort of story that makes you want to slap yourself on the back of the head, Duh!!
I was fishing in one of the little creeks down the Elizabeth with the young feller a while back, catching some nice Bream, had a coupla livie's out as well, Jordan kept leaning the rod on the side of the boat without anything holding it, told him off for this countless times, had good rodholders to put it in!
next minute off it went, slid up and out of the boat so fast i missed it, sat on the surface for a while then disappeared at a screaming pace up the creek, shark or ray, something big mustv got the bait. Look on his face was priceless!
thought oh well, got the anchor out, dragged it up and down and accross the creek trying to hook the line, nothing!!
Had just rebuilt the old butterworth rod as well, was in good order!
Anyway, got back there the next weekend at low tide again, there it was, wedged in the mangrove roots up at the high tide mark, no line left on the spool, amazing, mustv been towed around for a while as it was low tide when we lost it.
Reel was full of grit, coupla new bearings, still going well.
Jordan puts his rod in the rod holders now!!!
_________________ If there is water and it holds fish, then it is fun trying to fool them into eating what you offer!!
Bank:
Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 1:47 pm Post subject: Re: A Fisihng Fluke
I dont think I've ever had much fluke luck.
Only thing I can remember is when I was about 7 or 8 years old, fishing with the old man and a few other blokes at shady camp somewhere on the floodplains.
4 people casting at a time so I was sitting down waiting for a go, had my little rod and an old ABU and a "Barra Boss" lure. Was just dangling the lure in the water next to the boat watching it swim back and forth when BOOF. A good size barra came right up from underneath and inhaled it. Dont know how I managed to hold on to the rod but I landed it, fish was in the 80s, was basically same size as me back then!
Also I vaguely remember my old man or someone pulling a huge fish up, like.. 120cm+. It was massive. I stayed at the other end of the boat, was thinking it was going to swallow me whole.
Good Memories.
_________________ Fishing in the top end isn't just a matter of life or death, it's much much more serious than that.
Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 4:52 pm Post subject: Re: A Fisihng Fluke
About 20 years ago I lived in Dampier, needless to say the fishing was sensational to say the least. One trip my father and I took a friend out that had never been fishing before in his life. We cruised out to one of the islands and threw out one of those old silver spoons ( yea we had pretty safisticated gear then) within seconds the rod went balistic. Newby grabed the rod and an epic battle began, about 45min later we get a 19kg GT to the boat. As they do this thing dose one last run when it sees the boat, straight under it. Line shears on the keel fish is lost, everyone is gutted, we are all still leaniong over the side of the boat still looking into the water when we head a splash behind us, quickly followed by a gynormes THUD we all turn around to see the GT lying in the floor of the boat with it's newly aquired mouth bling. Unbelivable, he must of decided to do a quick "F" you drive by the boat, an missed judged to landing.
_________________ Custom Plate Boats Boat modifications Trailer and repairs
Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 5:47 pm Post subject: Re: A Fisihng Fluke
Hooked a line on the Dundee Jew reef years ago with the pick... Drag it up and there is a Penn 320 on a rod.... Woohoo... Start winding in the line and it goes off...... Jewie on the end still
Other one was loosing a barra and lure in the billabong near dingos many moons ago... 30min later the barra comes up beside the boat does a head shake and my nillsmaster lands in the boat with me.
Also had a barra bust of my mate dunny at corroborree in the lilies ... Motor over to see the barra with lure in it's gob stuck to a Lillie stem because the second treble was in it... Haha out with the net ... Into the boat and dunny claimed it as his PB
"Life's tough......It's even tougher if you're stupid." .........
Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:20 pm Post subject: Re: A Fisihng Fluke
yeah good one 2rods
Number two apprentice Samantha had that experience with us at Corroboree couple of years ago, hooked a nice Toga flicking a surface frog accross the lillies, did the old dive and busted her off in the lillies, 5 min later while rerigging the line, the Toga jumped out on the other side of the boat and spat the lure back in
obviously didn't want it, we all burst out laughing!!!!, had to have a beer to calm down.
_________________ If there is water and it holds fish, then it is fun trying to fool them into eating what you offer!!
Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 10:30 pm Post subject: Re: A Fisihng Fluke
good stories Last year while trawling mouth of Shady, hooked one of those metre salmon, got it near the boat and it did the moby dick on us. Rammed the boat half way out of the water, spat the lure and disappeared. Rig up again and start to trawl, and in front of the boat about 50 m was a sore and sorry salmon swimming around in circles on the surface. Out with the net and in the boat was one salmon with a huge dint in the side of his head. No. 2 was several years ago, on a fishing charter around six mile bouy, mate (bad luck follows this guy) had hooked a decent fish and after 10 minutes the line parted. About 1/2 hour later I hooked a rod bender, we were in 90 ft of water. 20 minutes later and lots of runs, all the punter looking over the side watch this 1 kg golden snapper netted come over the side. Stunned looks all around, how did this fish cause so much carnage. Felt like ages we were all staring at this fish, it didn't made sense. Then the captain notice line tangled in the net that didn't belong to me. Starts pulling it in by hand and out of the depths came another golden snapper, nacked, when it hit the surface the hook pulled and the decky threw the net under it and in the boat it came. 8 kg it went, although I claimed it for my own, my smaller fish had tangled in the broken line. I did share it with my mate as it was his broken line.
Posted: Fri Apr 08, 2011 3:50 am Post subject: Re: A Fisihng Fluke
Mine is fairly standard...was out bottom bashing off the sunny coast in qld...had 2 rods going..a floater for a macky or a snapper and a bottom banger thought it was time to check the floaters bait...cranked the bottom rig up 10 metres put it down while I tended to the floater heard a noise..turned around no bottom rig...TLD 25 and rod gonskies fished on for about 30 minutes decided to move spots pulled the anchor in...line wrapped around one spike of the reef anchor pulled one end got my rod and reel back fish still on the other...one very tired spotty mack of about 5 kilos pinned in the corner of it's gob with a 2/O and a lump of squiddly still attached thought about releasing him to say thanks..but necked him instead
_________________ The charm of fishing is that it is the pursuit of what is elusive but attainable, a perpetual series of occasions for hope.
Posted: Fri Apr 08, 2011 2:58 pm Post subject: Re: A Fisihng Fluke
A friend of mine relates a good story.
He was fishing down Esperance with his old man for Jews. His old man hooked a big one. After fighting it for a while, he eventually got it into the wash.
Clint goes down and swings the gaff at the fish and successfully gaffs it. He comes walking back up the beach while looking at the fish appreciatively and commenting that its a good fish. Looks up to see his old man still hooked on and fighting the fish.
Turned out the fish he'd gaffed was it's mate who'd followed it in to the shallows. They ended up with two 20+kg fish that night.
Posted: Fri Apr 08, 2011 4:56 pm Post subject: Re: A Fisihng Fluke
Two years agoI had my uncle up from melbourne. Hee had onlg caught sml flatheads. My mum made me take him fishing, so i took him to roopers reef out from leaders crk. The tide was moving enough you could of skied on it . I put down a fzn red fish with 150lb braid and 2 kg of lead to keep it down. After about 5 min the line slowly goes out. He is itching to pull on it but stop him for as long as I could. He sets the hook and after 15 min a 12 foot lemon shark appears. My uncle is knackered. I get it close enough to retieve the sinker and cut it free. I then rebait and send it down. He hooks up again he fights it to the top, a bit easier this time. It's the same shark with the other hook still in the mouth. I cut it loose and set him up again but this time he only brings it up half way, so you gessed it I winch it upand it's the same shark.
Posted: Sat Apr 09, 2011 9:01 am Post subject: Re: A Fisihng Fluke
Hilarious boys. My biggest fluke came on possibly the worst day fishing, Mum was up from Victoria and wanted to see shady being a keen fisho, many Mum's would shy away from that so hats off to her I thought (my mrs won't have a bar of shady which happens to work out well most of the time but that's another story).
So to say the fishing was slow is an understatement we hadn't had a bite all day, to make matters worse we located a heap of fish on the sounder but they were not interested, it was getting late and despite her politeness I knew Mum was over it and was ready to head back so "last cast" I called. I dropped the plastic down and could feel yet another snag, weed I thought, I jagged the lure trying to lose the weed but couldn't shake it so I reeled in to call it a day. Next thing I see braid coming out with my lure, that'd be right I thought, can't catch anything but someone else's rubbish so I dragged the discarded braid up and pulled it in then, bugger me it was kicking! "I think I've got a fish here" I said to Mum who was not impressed I could tell, I slowly dragged the line in to find a 60cm barra attached with a lure stuck in it's head, what's the chances I thought, I was expecting a powertail or sleepy cod at best?
The best part was yet to come, I let the poor bugger go, if he'd survived dragging a lure round shady he deserved to live! I pulled in the other end of the line and that's right there was still a rod and reel attached! Mum was impressed by that stage and we headed off happy to at least do our bit for the environment.
Second biggest fluke was taking my mate barra fishing for the first time, we went to Leaders Creek second troll he scored a 96, and within an hour had a 65, 75 and 96 to his name and I had one undersize. The funniest part is that he bought a boat within a month and hasn’t had a session like that since, serves him right I reckon.
Posted: Sat Apr 09, 2011 11:56 am Post subject: Re: A Fisihng Fluke
Mud wrote:
Fluking amatuers
Wait till you hear this story. Every word of it is absolutely true blue. Happened about ten years ago.
My mate Kim went overseas and left his Hilux with me for safe keeping. Yes I giggled too but he left it with me anyway.
So I arrived at Shady Camp ready for a big days fishing but when I looked at the front of the Hilux my heart fell....the grill off the front was gone. Damn I thought...must have fallen off at that crossing by the billabong...it will have been crushed by now with the huge amount of traffic that day. I fished on regardless and at the end of the day headed back to town under a full moon.
Going past the billabong I noticed a chunk of plastic sitting right in the middle of the road. It was the grill. Completely unscratched with just the little clips broken off. No the story doesnt end there.
I got back home and zip tied it back on from the inside. You would never know. Not even worth mentioning it to Kim. I mentally patted myself and my good fortune on the back.
Three months later Im sitting at Kims place. Its three in the morning, a bunch of mates around, many beeries have been drunk. I decide to fess up.
Mud "Hey Kim I meant to tell you about the grill on the Hilux"
Kim "Oh yeah I've been meaning to say something about that"
Mud "Yeah I know I should have told you sooner"
Kim "You didnt have to do that you know...I was happy that you were looking after it."
Mud "Huh?"
Kim "Putting a new grill on it. Thats awesome. It fell off shortly after I bought it. Been meaning to replace it for years.
Not a word of a lie.
WTF.....
_________________ Southy
Very rarely when the ship misses the harbour is it the harbours fault