Posted: Mon Oct 10, 2011 9:04 pm Post subject: Weekend @ Hardies
G'Day, Did an overnighter at Hardies Saturday night, with a mate that has lived in Darwin for the last 5 years, but hasn't had the pleasure of fishing our fine billabongs. We were gonna fish in the comp out that way, but we didn't want to wait until 3:30 for the weigh in before we came home, so decided to just go fishing. On the water pretty early on Saturday, and the call was made that none of our rather large stocks of beer was to be consumed until the first fish came over the side (Powertail didn't count). Luckily within 10 minutes of arriving at a spot that has been producing, I pulled in a 60cm baz. Nice start, and we had cans in our hands by 7. We were both getting pretty steady hits, and by lunchtime, we had 7 barra in the boat up to 84cm (my new PB). We also had a couple of toga. The arvo was a bit slower, but we managed a couple more fish before the wind picked up and the fishing shut down. The wind died off just before dusk, and the plan was to flick around some poppers and fizzers for a few hours, but I had left the thermo-cell in the car, and the mozzies got the better of us. They were fierce. Back at the car, we set up our swags, and settled in for a few more beers. At about 9, it started to rain and was fairly constant for most of the night. It turns out my swag isn't very waterproof anymore, and I spent most of the night in the passenger seat of the Navara. I have definitely had better night sleeps. Somehow I managed to be asleep as it got light, so we were on the water a bit later than planned but we were only fishing for matter of minutes before the first hook up. We got another six barra on Sunday morning, before pulling stumps at about 11 and heading home. We ended up with 15 Barra in the boat over the two days. 11 were over 55cm. We also lost probably another 15 or 20, and some of them were very decent fish. A couple of the fish that we lost, were due to lures failing. I had 2 of the old style lucifers' bibs break off whilst hooked up. Tony also lost what would have been his best barra due to a bib breaking off a brand new rapala lure. I also had the bib break off the lure that I got my 84cm whilst landing the fish, but I have both pieces of that, so hopefully a bit of glue and it'll be good to go again next week. I'm still loving the Minn Kota Ipilot. That thing is magic. I was using the record function for a troll run we were doing and was able to troll at much slower speeds that I can with the yammie and it is perfect for cruising along flicking at snags and weed beds. The battery was a bit dead by the time we left on Sunday, but we would have travelled many kilometres under electric power over the weekend.
Ando
Posted: Mon Oct 10, 2011 9:08 pm Post subject: Re: Weekend @ Hardies
Nice session mate. That 84 hd big shoulders on her. Well done.
_________________ The gods do not deduct from man's allotted span the hours spent in fishing. ~Babylonian Proverb
Posted: Mon Oct 10, 2011 10:51 pm Post subject: Re: Weekend @ Hardies
Nice write up Ando sounds like a pretty good couple of days, apart from the mozzies and rain but thats life up hear.
_________________ "Carpe diem, quam minimum credula postero" - Seize the day, trust as little as possible in tomorrow. (Horace)
or if all else fails
"C'est la vie"-Sh*t Happens
Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2011 5:59 pm Post subject: Re: Weekend @ Hardies
Cheers Guys.
nomad. We planned on fishing the comp right up to Thursday arvo, when I read that you must be present for the weigh in. Would have loved to hang around, but it would have meant sitting at a pub, and not having a beer (driving), and thats just not on. When we started getting fish, we kinda regretted not entering. I seen today that someone got a 92 out of Corrobberee anyway, so all good I guess.
Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2011 10:56 pm Post subject: Re: Weekend @ Hardies
Boom! Smacking em Ando! Some cracking fish there brus, good to see. From all the likely spots too by the looks of things. Good tomput old mate onto a fish and share in the spoils. Keep the posts coming bud.
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2011 12:28 pm Post subject: Re: Weekend @ Hardies
Good write up Ando1001
We were there Sunday morning in the Savage runabout, got a few, best was 83, not bad either, big and solid, my best from there, and the young feller cleaned up.
None of our fish were big enough to take a prize though, we were there for the presentation, it was great!!
doing a post
_________________ If there is water and it holds fish, then it is fun trying to fool them into eating what you offer!!
Posted: Thu Oct 13, 2011 9:32 pm Post subject: Re: Weekend @ Hardies
Hey Lucky.
I'm all done for the mid week trips now (damn work). Gotta contend with the crowds on the weekends. It was those trips on the quiet days that let me get to know the place and get onto the fish. Good to meet you out there. I'm sure that you're still slayen' em on the mid-week solo trips.