Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2011 7:10 pm Post subject: Trapon action at Corroboree
Went out to Corroboree yesterday for an arvo session with my brother. As the barra fishing has been quite tough lately we weren't expecting to catch any. So we went out just to get some fish in the boat. The last time we were there the Tarpon were thick. And this time was no different. Didn’t have to go far from the ramp and the Tarpon were all over the place. The soft plastic of choice was the 3” Reidys ( it didn’t matter what colour) as soon at the plastic hit the water the hits started, they would keep hitting the lure right up till it left the water. I know what you are all thinking Tarpon who cares… right I agree with you but there comes a time when it is just nice to start to catch something again.
After about 20 mins of the same lure getting smashed time and time again the body of the lure was finally ripped off and all I was left with was the sinker and hook. So I thought I would give it a go and throw that out and see what would happen.
Well the hookup rate went through the roof…. It was multiple fish per cast. One would jump and spit the hook and as soon at it would hit the water another one would be on..
Great couple of hours actually catching some fish…..
Bank:
Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2011 9:13 pm Post subject: Re: Trapon action at Corroboree
Mate, often we forget how lucky we are and how simple fishing can be. I just took an American mate out fishing this afternoon, the creek was bit too dirty so I thought I would try for some small queenies/trevs. I was all apologetic about the fishing and he was not fussed at all - too busy enjoying the scenery, the boat ride, the casting and the wildlife.
We ended up with 5 Small Queenies (well small by normal standards up here) a golden trevally and he also caught a Stargazer. He was absolutely stoked and I think I now have a permanent deckie. I kept two of the queenfish for him, showed him how to fillet the first one and he filleted the second one. I skinned the fillets for him, took out the bones, made him eat some Sashimi Queenie (which he loved) and sent him home with a recipe and the fillets to his wife and children. He is absolutely over the moon. I had a ball seeing someone enjoy fishing for what it is - Great Fun. Just like catching those Tarpon is!
Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2011 12:02 pm Post subject: Re: Trapon action at Corroboree
Hey guys we fished corroboree on sunday and got 12 barra and a few togas. It was tough in the morning but after about 930 they came on. We were throwing white z man frogs in the lillies near the s bends. There have been heaps of tarpon in there all year and the creek at the ramp has been flowing now for two months that im aware of. Looking foward to the run off. cheers shayne