Posted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 4:49 pm Post subject: Tinaroo Tips
Hey fellas,
as you worked out from the title I'm keen for any tips on fishing Tinaroo. Im going to try and get up there for a flick over the new year. I might have access to a boat, might not. I'll just have to wait and see.
I have almost no experience fishing the impoundments.
Any hints will be appreciated, if it gets me a metery well I'll buy you a case
Posted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 5:27 pm Post subject: Re: Tinaroo Tips
Mate you need to contact some of the boys on AUSFISH who go up there all the time, i haven't fished it in ages and i know it has changed since i was there last. Good luck though it isn't called the 1000 cast lake for nothing but there are some good fish in there hope this helps a bit. cheers shayne
Posted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 9:30 pm Post subject: Re: Tinaroo Tips
Hey sheeby
I had a fair bit of luck fishing land based from the tinaburra boat ramp (yungaburra end). Its a high traffic area with the water skiers out in force, so used to fish it from midnight through to sun up. The area doesnt look like much but the water skiers used to stir up a a good dirty water/colour change round the edges and the bait used it as cover. We used 16a bombers in green and cast the as far as our gear could go with most strikes coming out in the middle of no where. Lead up to the full moon was best BUT shaynes god is right it is called a lake of a 1000 casts and I reckon I would have taken all but that to land my first fish there. Either way it its a great place to see and the drive up is awesome, if you go for a run in a boat you wont beleive the actual size of the joint makes manton look like a swimming pool. Good luck either way.
Posted: Fri Dec 23, 2011 7:20 am Post subject: Re: Tinaroo Tips
Cheers guys.
Sounds like a plan Zulks. I've hooned around Tinaroo on a jetski a couple of times when I lived in Cairns and driven around it looking for critters a lot, just never had a shot a the fish in it
I reckon I've put over a 1000 casts in a session for a queenie before (before I came to my senses). That's nothing if ya get a metery at the end
Posted: Fri Dec 23, 2011 10:44 am Post subject: Re: Tinaroo Tips
Haven't fished Tinaroo seriously in about 15 years but used to have a bit of success when I was living on the tablelands. If you are land based theres some nice drop offs and submerged boulders just off the shoreline on the other side of the dam wall for a few hundred metres that can hold some decent fish. Barron river is running dirty at the moment after a bit of rain so there should be some colour change where it enters the dam (access down Favier Road off the Atherton-Kairi road) and might be worth a look. Otherwise anywhere that has a bit of deep water hidden under lilly pads would be worth a shot - pretty much anywhere away from the designated day-use areas is full of snags under the water. If lures aren't working, live bait is worth a try (mouth almighty works a treat) if you can catch some earlier in the day. Night time definately fishes better than daytime and the days around the full moon seem to spur the fish into action. If you get access to a tinnie, trolling the edges of the lillies and weed beds at night can produce some good fish. Worth throwing the yabbie pots in as well, the redclaw are moving about at the moment. If all else fails, bait fishing for sooty grunter and sleepy cod can be done pretty much anywhere. Just driven over from NT myself for xmas with the family so will be out there trying for the same, flick us a PM if you want any more info.
Cheers, Mark.
_________________ “Dream as if you'll live forever, live as if you'll die today.”
Posted: Fri Dec 23, 2011 2:21 pm Post subject: Re: Tinaroo Tips
Thanks for the tips Laney. Yeah I was thinking back to a few spots I remember eyeing off on the opposite side of the wall. I remember there being some nice looking bays and stuff. Has anyone had much luck on jacks in there? I've heard it was stocked up a while back as an experiment and they went well, out competed the giant sooties.
Posted: Fri Dec 23, 2011 4:26 pm Post subject: Re: Tinaroo Tips
Sheebs...I haven't fished tinaroo but have done a few hours in some other dams in qld main methods were trolling the old river beds with 3-5 metre divers, you could find them by using tree tops either side as a guide find the edge with your sounder and weave the boat in and out a bit bumping the lure occasionally...and big white plastics trolled over shallow weedy areas trolled dead slow there's some monster sooties in the dams up north too up around the 5 kg mark hope you get a few
_________________ The charm of fishing is that it is the pursuit of what is elusive but attainable, a perpetual series of occasions for hope.