Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2011 5:12 pm Post subject: Sick fish in Finniss
Went to the freshwater Finniss at the Weekend. Beautiful little river, quite clear water. Could see the barra swimming around, but they weren't too interested in my lures or flies. We got a couple, and a big sootie. Also ran into Dingo, who probably caught a stack as usual! One thing I noticed was a lot of the barra had sores on them, what causes this?
Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2011 5:19 pm Post subject: Re: Sick fish in Finniss
red spot, the water is low on oxygen ,some fish will go finns up then the rain will come and all will be good again
_________________ Views expressed on this website are those of individuals and do not reflect the opinions of the website owner, or its operators, or other website users.
Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2011 6:58 pm Post subject: Re: Sick fish in Finniss
I fished it with AJay on the weekend as well, we got a few barra and sooties I didn't see any red dots on em, but then again I wasn't really looking that hard either.
Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2011 10:35 pm Post subject: Re: Sick fish in Finniss
Did you get a measurement on the sooty Theo, godd to put a face to the name.
We spent the arvo out there, found a couple of snags that were chockers with barra, but they were lazy. We did manage 21 barra (we were counting as my brother in law was on board for a fish off) Only prob was only 1 was legal at 58cm. Great fun. I will post up a report next week as I am off fishing other places this week.
The 58cm had red spots, but most others were clean.
Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2011 11:03 pm Post subject: Re: Sick fish in Finniss
We managed about that as well mostly rats, I got smoked twice by two big barra that would have been easy high 70's and Ajay got smoked by one. I guess thats what happens when your fishing light, they were heading straight for the snags and had to thumb it . Did manage a few good sooties. The Xraps XR8/XR10 are killing it everytime.