Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2011 3:29 pm Post subject: Not another Corroboree Report!
I lied, it is!! Woo!!
What's the underlying message? If you want a barra, go hit a billabong
Drove down early on Wednesday morning to stay overnight and fish with a mate and his mum in the morning, stay overnight and hook up with the girlfriend and her friend the next morning to do the same again.
Some plans work, which makes for some boring reading but a great time for us
Hit it in the am, pretty much spent the whole time flicking lillies with weedless soft plastics (thanks to arrab for the soft plastics brand tip [Zman] and thanks to all the boys with the weedless tips from last time). Spent a total of about 15 minutes trolling, bored senseless and went back to flicking lillies, snags and pandanus. We didn't catch a million, but 30 barra over 3 sessions most in the 50 - 63 range is damn good for me and especially seeing 2 people catch their 1st ever fish on lures and 1st barra, legendary!
They started small, small toga and barra keep you casting though
Attachment:
jez little one.jpg
Then my mate landed a couple like this bad boy..
Attachment:
troy good one.jpg
Then I caught up..
Attachment:
jez 1st decent.jpg
And out of the only 15 minutes of trolling we could tolerate I got my biggest ever toga! 61cm!
Attachment:
netted toga.jpg
Attachment:
jez toga 61.jpg
My mate and his mum went home stoked, getting some fish and seeing some stunning sights
Attachment:
hunters dream.jpg
Had a 3hr power nap in the middle of the day under a tree I found a local happy to eat Powertail and then ducked out for a solo arvo session
Attachment:
bird eat Powertail.jpg
Which resulted like all sessions, barra and toga!
Attachment:
jez solo barra contrast fix.jpg
Attachment:
corrobs boat.jpg
Attachment:
corrob sunset.jpg
The next morning I was up latish and out with the girls, slept on the back of the ute in the tent for 10 hours. Sleeping is definitely one of my talents, was in the tent early because of so many mozzies, luckily none biting because of the aeroguard but I think swallowed 100 or so in the time it took me to put the tent up.
Beaut day out there, but my crappy camera just doesn't do it justice
Attachment:
corrob croc.jpg
Attachment:
croc couple.jpg
Attachment:
jeza on.jpg
Attachment:
netted baz.jpg
Attachment:
jez tree bazza.jpg
This was my best, went 62.
Attachment:
jez 62.jpg
Awesome times down there an amazing place.
Some stats for those who care, it was TOO HOT to fish in the middle of the day from 12ish, but on day two we gave it a shot, it really slowed at this time, the water got up to 33 degrees in spots and nothing was moving about, took lots of casts to entice a strike and when they did it was half hearted in my opinion and hard to hook up. Prior to that most strikes landed a fish, which was different to other times, I think they were hungry. Day 1 they wouldn't touch a red softy, blue and green were the go, on day two you couldn't keep them off the red ones, probably just luck/coincidence.
Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2011 6:00 pm Post subject: Re: Not another Corroboree Report!
Good stuff p279 glad to see the Zman's were working for you. Moonman is right, bigger fish to be had on the troll, but more fun to be had casting weedless softies.
Posted: Sun Oct 16, 2011 10:34 am Post subject: Re: Not another Corroboree Report!
Top post, I am going to give it a crack in a fortnight with some toursists, so good to hear what is happening .
Posted: Sun Oct 16, 2011 12:13 pm Post subject: Re: Not another Corroboree Report!
Arab and Moonman, I believe you about trolling but I think I'll need to take a book or something to keep me trolling. Going to the Daly this week so I guess I'll have to get used to it and just suck it up, I might push through like the first time I watched a full test match when I was a kid, now I can't get enough of it
Yeah IIMB it puts some stress on the seats coming back in the afternoon from Shoal Bay, I've had the sounder fall off the mount and certainly punished my cheeky mates sitting up the front haha