Posted: Sun Jun 26, 2011 7:42 pm Post subject: NT Billfish Gear
Gday all, ive just moved (posted) up to the NT with the RAAF and wanna get out into the bluewater soon. Just wondering what size reels, rods and line you use over this side of the country for billfish as in Nth QLD they used Penn Internationals but heard the billfish are not as big over here. Any help would be awesome thanks.
Posted: Sun Jun 26, 2011 8:00 pm Post subject: Re: NT Billfish Gear
My advice would be to go through the Marlin/Sailfish threads on here. There is heaps of information. I read a several part thread on tactics, times, tackle etc etc (that I cant find now) but it was really helpful.
Posted: Sun Jun 26, 2011 10:58 pm Post subject: Re: NT Billfish Gear
ok ill get onto him then, ive got a TLD50II LSRW on a 24kg stand up so i guess that will do as a big reel. can only learn from mistakes (ones that get away) on what i need.
Shall prowl the threads for information, thanks fella's
Posted: Mon Jun 27, 2011 3:20 pm Post subject: Re: NT Billfish Gear
"SPIN" gear is the way to go IMO mate. im running the Saltist 6500 & 4500 although not entirely happy with them(probably should have just stuck with shimano) they make running baits for the smaller-ish fish encountered up north much easier and are perfect for pitching baits back to teased up fish..
Posted: Mon Jun 27, 2011 5:49 pm Post subject: Re: NT Billfish Gear
ah yeah, where is a good place to get a big spin reel up NT? i noticed up in QLD the mackeral would watch the lure on retreive but not take it can you couldnt move it fast enough to entice it