Posted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 6:25 pm Post subject: Making timber Lures
About this time last year I was back home at the parents place for chrissy in SW Qld and got stuck there because of the mongrel bl..dy floods. Boredom kicked in out on the water logged farm so I grabbed a chunk of timber out of the shed and started drawing some shapes on it that I hoped would resemble lures. It started hacking into the pine with a jigsaw, and I mean hacking as im a boily not a carpenter chopped out a few and got stuck into them on the linisher and they were actually beginning to look like something. I did some googling to work out how people put the eyelets in them and that wasn't hard at all. I give them all a good sand with wet and dry sandpaper and got mums airbrush out (shes into painting and sh!t). Put a white base coat on then just started putting random colours on (I dont have the arty gene) but although they're probably nothing special I'm pretty happy with the way they come out. I didnt have anything suitable to make the bibs out of so being the boily I am I decided to use 1.6 gal, and this was a great big waste of time I had forgotten I had even made these lures until I was looking through old lure box's so I gots a thinkin maybe I should try round up some pre made bibs if they exist or see if someone on here has any ideas about how you would go about making them. I reckon it would be pretty sweet to catch a nice fish on a lure you made yourself...
Posted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:33 pm Post subject: Re: Making timber Lures
good job mate some good shapes there and paint looks the goods too.
as far as bibs go you can buy them pre made from the states(just google lure making supplies)) although most are smaller shallow style ones so they may not suit your lures. if you can get hold of some polycarbinate and just use the same tools and techniques used to shape ya lures its pretty easy, as for size shape etc if you have a lure of similar shape and size just copy its bib other wise its all trial and error. i use a model makers CA glue but a good 2 part epoxy will work also. if theres a chance you will catch a decent sized fish on them it is worth pinning the bib also i generaly use a short piece of 1.2 stainless mig wire this can also be used for your tow hitch. hope this helps mate and hope ya get some fish on them.its a good feeling when ya do get fish on home made lures and it can only be beaten when someone else gets a fish on a lure you made. good luck..
Posted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 10:02 pm Post subject: Re: Making timber Lures
Some good looking lures there mate, once you sort out the bib issue and start catching fish let us know.
_________________ The gods do not deduct from man's allotted span the hours spent in fishing. ~Babylonian Proverb