Lexan/Polycarbonate

deepblack

Lexan/Polycarbonate

Post by deepblack »

Hi All,
Does anyone know where I can source Lexan/Polycarbonate for lure bibs?
Any help much appreciated.
Cheers, :drinking1:
John.

North Shore Reel Service 0400494401.
moylo

Post by moylo »

Try N.T. Acrylic & Plastics, Berrimah, (08) 8984 4585 Cheers
deepblack

Post by deepblack »

Thanks Moylo.

How much you after mate, I have some laying round somewhere. I'll dig it out and measure the thickness.

ajbear

Post by ajbear »

They have it in sheet form at bunnings in Palmeston, or at least they did when I was lookin for some for the same purpose!
Just remember if all else fails "try like F##K" !!!!!!!

I have some offcuts of 3 mm if that suits.

PM sent also.

Balls

Re: Lexan/Polycarbonate

Post by Balls »

G'day John

What are you making the bibs for? lures you are making yourself, replacing damaged bibs on commercial lures etc, size, shape & numbers. I usually buy full sheets from NT Acrylic, I couldn't locate the invoice to give you an idea of the price, they also sell off cuts occasionally. Normally 1.2mm/1.5mm will suit cottage lures for Barra & Pelagics, I also use 1.00mm for a lot of the small lures I use in the Harbour. I rarely use any thicker then 1.5mm on my lures unless I am making lures for friends chasing Doggies. If you are making them for yourself, let me know if you want to make bibs with curves & I can give you the heads up, cold bending can be done easily in vice, vice grips etc, so long as you use something to protect the polycarbonate, watch you don't accidentally end up with Acrylic sheet, as it is brittle & will crack, cheers Balls.
SCURVY DOG

the boyz at RamStar plastics are very helpful.
deepblack

Post by deepblack »

G'day all,
Thanks for all the replies, I ended up going to NTAP and they were very helpful supplying me with a 2mm sheet off cut at an excellent price. Anyway here is the final product. 8)
Cheers, :cheers:
John.
IMG_0595.JPG

very nice...looks just like the richo's lures that I use.........be keen to buy 1 off ya if your making them??

deepblack

Post by deepblack »

Thanks 2rods,
Yeah, its essentially a smaller version of a Richo's,. I have started by making lures I know work and I'm slowly starting to build my own, one I swam in the pool last night just did spirals, I think the bib may have been too narrow and made it unstable.... Check your PM's
John.

deepblack wrote:Thanks 2rods,
Yeah, its essentially a smaller version of a Richo's,. I have started by making lures I know work and I'm slowly starting to build my own, one I swam in the pool last night just did spirals, I think the bib may have been too narrow and made it unstable.... Check your PM's
John.
You may have to move that tow point a little further away from the nose of the lure as well. I have a nice wide bib for deep divers if you want one. Laser cut with no holes so you can experiemnt with your tow point before drilling.

deepblack

Post by deepblack »

Thanks for the offer Blinky and I will keep it in mind. I have plenty of bib material for the time being, and I'm enjoying trying to come up with different profiles. The one that spiralled was a different shape and I found the problem was in the tow point holes being too small and not allowing the lure to self centre it swims great now. I have found if you change the hole placement on the bib you get different actions as well as depths eg. the lure in the picture dives deep with a fast shimmy with its' axis in the centre of the body.
Balls

Post by Balls »

G'day John

Check out tackleunderground.com.au & peruse the hardbait section, lots of info to give you ideas or speed up learning curve, some good, some not wort a pinch of shiiittt, some of the American input is really good but has to be beefed up for Aussie species, cheers Balls.
SCURVY DOG

Hey John,
Just stumbled over this old post........how'd end up getting on with the lures?

Return to “Lures”