Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 9:21 pm Post subject: Blades
If these little beauties dont catch me a baz Im giving up they are 3" with good hooks,got em from lures direct,anyone who hasnt used these lures they vibrate like hell when retrieved I used the smaller ones with light hooks for bream down south,Ive got a feeling I should have ordered more.
Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 9:27 pm Post subject:
Hi Max,
Were they expensive, if you don't mind me asking?
The reason I ask, is that I have never used one simply because around here they cost around $20, which I find a bit dear for something that I may loose in a few minutes...
Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 10:26 pm Post subject:
My mate in Sydney has been raving on about blade lures to me since mid last year. I haven't bothered looking into them as I thought they were more like a silver slug type pelagic lure as he said he targets Kingfish with them. He reckons barra would love them (but he's never fished for barra). By the looks of those Id be very keen to have a crack. Hope he brings them up with him in March! Keep us posted if they work!
There almost the best thing since sliced bread. They'll be the next buzz lure of the NT scene I reckon,just they haven't reached the market yet. Just need someone high profile to start using them and giving them a plug and they'll be selling like hot cakes.
They are pricey,that's the only problem,but the TT one's are a great quality and action and only about $12-13. Some of the other brands are upwards of $20...too much.
Can see them working casting to structure,casting to Rockbars,there is no rattle,so the fish shouldn't spook.
I've bought some larger TT models that I use for Bream/Yella's,etc in the smaller variety, I'll bring them up in April and give them a go.
http://www.ttlures.com.au/switchblade.php
Likewise Jackalls should dominate up there,but casting them all day into snag ridden territory is a millionaires game that I can't afford
Posted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 2:23 pm Post subject:
I've got mates that use them, they reckon they are dynamite on Threadies. Apparently they have been catching heaps of threadies in the Brisbane river on them also. I bought a few in Noosa whenI was there over Christmas but haven't used them yet. Mine were about $17 from BCF.
Posted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 7:28 pm Post subject:
Well Im a sucker for online purchases and just got on lures direct and bought about 8 of them. They're very cheap $4.95 - $6.95 depending on the sizes. Looking fwd to having a crack and seeing how they go. I reckon the queenies will love the big chrome one too! Cheers Max!
Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2010 11:14 pm Post subject:
Yeh, blades work well. They've been out down south for about 2 years now and are massive on the bream scene.
They do make 4" version I think which would go well on Barra. The ones they use on threadies down hear are actually Jackall Mask Vibes which are a SP variant. These are my fav.
The technique to using them is actually to cast and drop em deep with small lifts of the tip once the lure is on the bottom. The vibration caused on the lift is the attractant to fish and in most cases the lure will get picked off the bottom when stationary (bream).
I usually use em on rockbars and do Ok but the key is to stay in contact with the lure and keep it moving or hopping along the bottom with subtle twitches.
Blades themselves (breaming blades) predominantly come in weight sizes not length. ie 1/8oz, 1/4oz etc etc.
Subsequently, they played no part in our recent win down on the Goldie altho we did throw a couple in the pre-fish the week before.
have fun experimenting Max.
Posted: Mon Jun 28, 2010 3:23 pm Post subject:
Yep Pec blades catch everything!! when i was down south i had to stand behind trees to put them on my line....... Carp even love them and thats saying something.... I brought some rather large ones back with me, cant wait to give them a swim...
Only problem with them is they snag real easy!!
_________________ Frodo, Dont wear the ring...........
The magical Bling, Bling..
I dont rap about bitches and ho's
I rap about witches and trolls.....