Mangrove Jacks

Your home if you fish from anything that isn't floating.
Dyspossession

Mangrove Jacks

Post by Dyspossession »

Hey guys,

I'm new to Darwin, currently living in the nightcliff area. I rarely keep my catch as I'm not huge on eating fish [emoji1417] (although the missus loves a feed of fish every now and then)

I'm obviously after some jacks, I've tried rapid creek on low tide with plastics/hard bodies with no success.. I've also tried the Cullen bay breakwall on low tide.

Can anyone shed some light as where else j could try and when (tides/day/night etc)

I've caught jacks back home, but only on livies.

TIA [emoji1417] Image

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Matt Flynn
Site Administrator
Site Administrator

Re: Mangrove Jacks

Post by Matt Flynn »

Some good jacks in the harbour but they aren't usually targeted.

They can be targeted in the harbour by casting along the rocks in the shallows on big rising tides, they come right up close along the edges of the headlands over at Cox Peninsula.

They need little lures and light leaders to be tempted, and livebait is best. They can be fussy.
Dyspossession

Post by Dyspossession »

Would this be Darwin harbour on the jetty side of the waterfront? If so I wasn't aware that you were allowed to fish there [emoji848]

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
AJay
Seadog
Seadog

Post by AJay »

I've had more success catching jacks on unweighted pieces of fresh dead mullet drifted into snags and rockbars than I have with live mullet. plus you can turn one live bait into four or five good dead baits, 2 fillets and depending on how big it is, the head and cut the backbone in half.
Matt Flynn
Site Administrator
Site Administrator

Post by Matt Flynn »

Would this be Darwin harbour on the jetty side of the waterfront? If so I wasn't aware that you were allowed to fish there
No, other side of harbour, Mandorah coast.