Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2011 6:31 pm Post subject: Re: Saturday trip from hell
Well boys,I've laughed so hard the tears are running down my leg..............got to get our heads together and release the VIDEO we can certainly make mega-bucks if we can put it on tape without any rehersal..........thanks again fotr a good giggle with some of the happenings I've been there and done that============phil
_________________ If if wasn't for fishing, I'd lose a lot more golf balls.
Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 2:19 am Post subject: Re: Saturday trip from hell
Russell Coight eat ya heart out..Mrs olfart always suspected we fisho's were a little strange...Now she's convinced we're absolute nutters. In 24yrs I've never seen her breakdown laughing as she did while reading the thread. A silent movie would be the go. I think a bit/lot/all of the language would trouble the censors.
_________________ " YOUTH is a GIFT " "AGE is an ART ""Doesn't mean you get any smarter..just wrinkled and cracked".
Highscores:2
Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 5:07 am Post subject: Re: Saturday trip from hell
bl..dy hilarious
I think my MOST stupid thing ive done was having just bought a brand spanker new, shiny Gloomis pro blue, I get home and chuck me certate 4000 on and...as you do... need to test her out....So I gets the wife on the end of the line to play fish....as you do... in the back yard giving my shiny new G Loomis a good test out........niiiice drag smooth, rod plenty of power, so I crank up the drag a bit to give her a real good test...Obviously drag a bit too tight and the line slips from my wifes hand, rod whips back and straight into patio roof (which im standing under) and snaps 3 inches off the tip
Oh did I mention BRAND NEW NEVER BEEN NEAR WATER
_________________ "I was reading about the evils of drinking, so I gave up..........................reading"
Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 11:25 am Post subject: Re: Saturday trip from hell
What a crack up. Haven't laughed so much in ages.
Although I don't have the horror stories of some of you guys I do have quite a funny one from a few years back when I was up here last.
Took a mate and his young son out fishing to Fenton Patches one day. From memory his son was about 9 or 10 at the time. Anyway prior to heading out my mate gave his young fella 1/2 a kwell to avoid any possible sea sickness. While we were out fishing I had to fix some lines, so while doing this I had mine just hanging over the side of the boat with no bait on it. Anyway young fella says to me, 'Macka you're getting bites'. My reply 'Mate I can't it's got no bait on.' Next thing I know, the rod bends and quickly gets ripped over the side of the boat. Shark grabbed the sinker which was bobbing in the water. Next time put rod in holder. Thats not the funny part though. About half way through the day my mate gives his young fella another quarter of a kwell. No issues I think. We stop to clean fish on the way home and it was about this stage the young fella started doing some weird stuff. We didn't think much of it though.
Finally we get him home and later on my mate tells me that his young fella came out of his room with a stuffed duck that he had since birth freakin' out yelling 'Duckies breathing, Duckies breathing' going absolutely nuts.
Until that point I had no idea you could OD on kwells. I'm sure the sun during the day had something to do with it aswell, but still at the time it was funny as hell.
Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 11:19 pm Post subject: Re: Saturday trip from hell
Funny shi*e...ha ha
New boat, hit a croc so gota replace prop, bearings and seals.......
Take off after watching a mate get smoked in some wood on a recent fishing trip and whats that strange noise....motor should be running fine.......... anchor is still attached to bow sprit.....ha ha.
Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 1:47 pm Post subject: Re: Saturday trip from hell
I remember buying a sure catch reel that didnt catch sh^t lol the drag gears were rooted so after loosing 3 mackeral on it in a arvo i through it over the side and crack it lol
Posted: Sat Nov 12, 2011 4:00 pm Post subject: Re: Saturday trip from hell
Ok here's another little adventure you fellas might get a laugh out of Mates Steve ,Paul and Brian pro fishing for mackerel out of Coral Bay Brian skippering sees a little orca calf on its own so he starts doing donuts around it in the 17' Star boat with twin Mariners on the arse All were having a laugh until mum came along and started knocking clean sections out of the swells over the boat Well it was throttles full up and flat shat to try to get away from her with Steve hanging out over the back with the gaff yelling slow down so I can gaff it They ended up shooting the reef at Tandabiddy at full noise to get away from her Some soiled undies that day
_________________ The past is history,the future is mystery,the moment is a gift and that's why it's called the present
Posted: Sat Nov 12, 2011 6:48 pm Post subject: Re: Saturday trip from hell
Had a cracker of a day myself today first some drunken f-wit decided to throw a brick through my windscreen in front of my face while driving down roystonea then got in mates landcruiser to go to corob an hour late and broke down 2 km from corob tav then didnt catch any decent fish myself while all my mates got atleast 2 keepers each. Only good thing it was their firat time out and i promised them some barra went well with biggest being 82 so not all bad news but still peed off about my window
_________________ The ones who fight for their beliefs are those who achieve their dreams.
Posted: Sat Nov 12, 2011 6:56 pm Post subject: Re: Saturday trip from hell
I'd be fuming about the window davey, and i hope they have to fix it up, but at least the actuall fishing session wasn't all bad. At least a feed was caught.
Posted: Sat Nov 12, 2011 10:55 pm Post subject: Re: Saturday trip from hell
Done the same with the anchor. After watching cracker night from the water I raced back to the ramp to avoid the crowds. After a couple of km my girfriend asks "what's that rope hanging off the boat?" I turned around & the anchor was planing out behind us
Posted: Sun Nov 13, 2011 1:32 pm Post subject: Re: Saturday trip from hell
Ask Barratragic about how he decided to throw the anchor and chain out at the mouth of the Daly without the rope attached..... its hard to find good help.
_________________ Cheers
BD
'May your fishing spots be silted and your hooks on backwards'
Posted: Sun Nov 13, 2011 2:14 pm Post subject: Re: Saturday trip from hell
Brent Matthews wrote:
Ask Barratragic about how he decided to throw the anchor and chain out at the mouth of the Daly without the rope attached..... its hard to find good help.
Ha ha, that cracked me up, would have loved to see the look on his face when he realized what he had just done.
Posted: Sun Nov 13, 2011 5:55 pm Post subject: Re: Saturday trip from hell
Years ago I used to dive most weekends. we went with a dive boat and he chucked his new anchor over the side. but he had forgotten to connect it to the rope. This was in the days of paper depth sounders We dived for it in 60' of water but couldnt find it. 6 mths later we found it about 50 m from the wreck we were diving on