Posted: Fri Oct 28, 2011 10:12 pm Post subject: Re: flathead
Agent86 wrote:
a metrey, thats a ripper
have got quite a few around the place over the years, coupla different types but never one that big.
Reminds me of drifting off North Cott a few years back!!
well done!!!
G'day Agent 86, I used to fish for flathead in the Swan River around Claremont;using a mates homemade lures, never tried for them at Cott. (too many white pointers.. ever have any joy? Cheers Muntzy
_________________ Outside of a dog, a book is a mans best friend,
Posted: Sat Oct 29, 2011 9:51 am Post subject: Re: flathead
Rossco look up crocodile fish. Looks like a medieval warrior flathead. Super fugly. We caught one about a foot long of east point once. Tasted good. Fat fillets.
Posted: Sun Jan 22, 2012 9:12 pm Post subject: Re: flathead
I have been around a bit, the flatty which will grow into the metre easy plus range is the dusky, check its distribution one may go on holidays some times! I do, or it could be global warming? every thing else is! Just for another point too, I reckon big ones taste just as good and this theory is to try and help the put back rate. I am not going to waste my time on any catch and release banter as I follow where ever I am fishing areas laws wheather that is 1 flatty over 75 or under 36 or NO flatty over 75 to be kept.
Posted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 10:49 am Post subject: Re: flathead
Nice Flattie Angry!!
Muntzy wrote:
G'day Agent 86, I used to fish for flathead in the Swan River around Claremont;using a mates homemade lures, never tried for them at Cott. (too many white pointers.. ever have any joy? Cheers Muntzy
Hey Muntzy, went to CCGS boarding school in Claremont for a while, then lived in Claremont, fished for Flathead there in Freshwater bay using Mr Twisters in the late 70's early 80's, if the blowies didn't bite the tails off!!! also got a few on little minnows and ABU Toby's metal lures went back and had a go a couple of years ago in bro's boat and got a heap of small ones
Flathead was the staple diet for lunch on Sunday, cooked on an open fire on the banks of the Swan, instead of Sunday lunch at the boarding school , caught heaps of flatties in the Swan on Freshwater Bank and near the Claremont Jetty and Yaucht club, around at Mosman's used to catch heaps of Mulloway!! some big ones too!.
Used to get some ripper flatties out off Cottesloe and Swanbourne drifting though, biggest was just under 120cm. Long time ago now though, might still be a few around, never know. Wierd thing is, only flathead that i have found that reaches that size is the Dusky, according to the fish guides! and they are only supposed to be on the East Coast!!
Have caught a few flatties on lures up here, but i reckon the biggest would be 40cm so far, still ok.
Attachment:
005.JPG
Smartie
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post. _________________ If there is water and it holds fish, then it is fun trying to fool them into eating what you offer!!
Hi MM, I've fought a couple around Darwin, but purely by by chance- I didn't 'target' them as such. The first one was a number of users ago from the ramp next to Spot On Marine at East Point, I can't even remember the lure, but it was a hard body that was just bumping over the bottom. Caught another off the rocks towards the mouth of Rapid Creek the other day using a SP from KO tackle with a single tail, but dropped it at my feet. It was only about 30cm or so, but had a couple of nice fillets on him. Again the lure had just bumped the bottom and was grabbed. Caught another one near Gove years ago as well, again with the lure bumping over the bottom.
Have a bit of a search through some old threads, I'm pretty sure there are some about flatties and spots that are more likely to catch them.
They are around, and I'd rate them up there with some of the better eating fish going (fine bones can be a bit annoying though).
Good luck
_________________ Cheers,
Ash
-----------------
If it doesn't fit, get a bigger hammer and hit it harder!
Just checked the KO sp, and it was item S089-4, Colour EL. Not particularly descriptive, but look a bit like a small white/silvery baitfish with a few spots, and a pearl coloured long tail. They cost $5 for a pack of 5. Thinking about it, the lure at Spot On was probably a gold bomber. They were retrieved at a moderately slow speed, and keep the retrieve going all the way in - they can be virtually right in front of you.
_________________ Cheers,
Ash
-----------------
If it doesn't fit, get a bigger hammer and hit it harder!