Posted: Sat Oct 29, 2011 12:13 pm Post subject: Dishin up a Smile/FFF Helping Kids...THE NITTY GRITTY
Well Folks, It looks like there's going to be a whole bunch of happy smilin' faces around the place in the near future. Despite a slow start, (due laargely to me being a bit obscure re the thread name), the response from the Forum has been encouraging, and if everyone follows through, it looks like we have the makings of a very good thing. It's already been suggested we hold a special FFF..Mate's Day as an Annual Event ..Judging by some of the phone conversations/pm's Ive had over the last week, we have a solid core of members prepared to put in the hard yards to make it happen. Please don't get the idea that I have ANY experience at doing this sort of thing..PUNTER has a lot to answer for there..He ran the lure past me nose, and I was hooked. Can't think of anything,(apart from the birth of me kids) that has given me more pleasure. The support of the likes of Punter, BenJam, Schubie, Jeffish, DragonMaster, Agents 86/99, MRB, Jersey, Smed, Googz, Jewie Queen, Pecheur, Fishfanatic, Rug, Rossco, and even Steve B down in Brisvegas, has shown once again, what a great bunch of people we have on this Forum. There are still a lot of members who probably haven't caught up with the thread yet and I've no doubt that when they do, they'le get on board as well. At the moment Ive had offers on the Starter kits we've already got(see photo's), and arranged with Jamie(female) the manager of BCF for the supply of 30 more, should we require them. We set the stump up at $50/kit, a pretty small price for the happiness returned. There's been a suggestion been put that, as the skippers will be ultimately deciding on the day/time/location, a meeting/bbq be held at Buff ck bbq area to formulate the plan of attack..(put incidently by Ben Jam who first raised the Mate's Day idea with me). We need the thoughts/ideas of as many Forum members as possible in making this a real success. Thanks folks . Gunna get me butt off this chair and go get a fish. Update: It's been suggested the N/cliff foreshore as meeting point for sorting out the nuts and bolts of FFF Mate's Day..Is this acceptable to every one ?? Please post your thoughts.. graham.
_________________ " YOUTH is a GIFT " "AGE is an ART ""Doesn't mean you get any smarter..just wrinkled and cracked".
Last edited by olfart on Sun Oct 30, 2011 1:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Highscores:25
Posted: Sat Oct 29, 2011 1:01 pm Post subject: Re: Dishin up a Smile/FFF Helping Kids...THE NITTY GRITTY
Great stuff. Sorry did not call back lastnight mate got very busy with work. Will call today.
I would however suggest nightcliff foreshore for the BBQ etc as there is more room for parking better acces to bbq's and in general more room. Oh and less midges etc. but either way if I can make it I will.
_________________ 'Take me drunk, I'm home" Unknown
"Conformity is the jailer of freedom and the enemy of growth". John F. Kennedy
"The first principle of a free society is an untrammeled flow of words in an open forum" Adlai E. Stevenson
"We are willing enough to praise freedom when she is safely tucked away in the past and cannot be a nuisance. In the present, amidst dangers whose outcome we cannot foresee, we get nervous about her, and admit censorship". Forster, Edward
"Freedom is the right to tell people what they do not want to hear" George Orwell
"Political Correctness is a doctrine, fostered by a delusional, illogical minority, and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end." by Anonymous
Posted: Mon Oct 31, 2011 9:30 am Post subject: Re: Dishin up a Smile/FFF Helping Kids...THE NITTY GRITTY
Hi guys Nightcliff sounds the goods to me as well, which area? the carpark at the ramp or the Beachfront pub maybe both meet at carpark six pm Wednesday the 2/11 then move on to Beachfront? Other suggestions?
Highscores:28
Posted: Mon Oct 31, 2011 11:24 am Post subject: Re: Dishin up a Smile/FFF Helping Kids...THE NITTY GRITTY
I might have trouble getting there Wed as I have some PD (professional development) on that runs pretty late. Still happy to help out doing whatever though. I'll give you a call O'F
_________________ Ricky Bobby: Well let me just quote the late-great Colonel Sanders, who said..."I'm too drunk to taste this chicken."
Posted: Mon Oct 31, 2011 12:31 pm Post subject: Re: Dishin up a Smile/FFF Helping Kids...THE NITTY GRITTY
Here goes again sounds as though the Nightcliff carpark is cool with everyone now we need to decide on time and day seeing that Wednesday is out how about the weekend? open to more suggestions please. Also Olefart as I said I will put in for two rigs now those others that were in for the pressies lets all put hands in pocket and fork out. I will put my donation in on the night of the above meet, also have someone (local business man) not a Triple FFFr who wants to put in a donation and possibly we can see Olefart right on the night plus some extra to get more goodies for those little tackers. Please notify suitable date and time for us to meet.
Posted: Mon Oct 31, 2011 1:06 pm Post subject: Re: Dishin up a Smile/FFF Helping Kids...THE NITTY GRITTY
By 'seein' me right' think Schub's means givin' me the ammo to make another raid on BCF..The look on some of the other customers' faces was priceless as I wheeled trolley loads of gear out to the wagon. I'm on the mend from a small op, and still have 2wks before I'm back at the mine..I'm more than happy to do the runnin' round. Graham.
_________________ " YOUTH is a GIFT " "AGE is an ART ""Doesn't mean you get any smarter..just wrinkled and cracked".
Posted: Mon Oct 31, 2011 3:10 pm Post subject: Re: Dishin up a Smile/FFF Helping Kids...THE NITTY GRITTY
Nightcliff carpark sounds good, i reckon a weeknight wood be best as don't want to interfere with fishing this time of year, bit hard to plan the weather. Maybe plan ahead a little!
How about Next Wednesday the 9th, bit over a week away then for people to plan things. We can still go to the hotel after, or if we get rained out go there anyway!!
And we can still get it in before the kids day to decide what we r going to do for them and let them know!!
Just my thoughts, whatdya reckon?
_________________ If there is water and it holds fish, then it is fun trying to fool them into eating what you offer!!