Posted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 12:50 pm Post subject: Cox Peninsular Culverts Lack Aquafauna...
Decided on a run through to Jabiru........this would have been a great idea as there were huge fish going berserker in every body of water big enough to drop a chartreuss hollow belly into......had we actually gone there.
Just before leaving I put a call through to South Aligator to check if they had LP gas....my ute runs on it and you need to check whos selling it. Nup....btw Jabiru service station doesnt have any either since they rebuilt it. "Really?...Um...so who sells it?" "Oh Coinda Lodge does.....cept their pump is broken...sorry mate". "So where do I get it?" "Um...the closest is Darwin or Katherine"
You have GOT to be kidding! How many innocent LPG cars have gone into Kakadu assuming there will be gas available and had to b towed out? Is this modern day Australia? Did I miss a time flip somewhere? That has to be the most ridiculous thing since........the invention of the overhead reel.
Anyhow...we decided instead to go to that place where we never do any good but keep going back to in the hope that the thrermodynamics laws of physics have somehow changed....ie 1 The Law of diminishing entropy 2 The law of diminishing enthalpy and 3 The law of Dont Fish the Cox Peninsular culverts
First stop....that first creek on the dundee road. It was pumping good clean water at .4 over the crossing. The crossing itself was going too hard to fish but we went up a side road and found some good fishable water. First cast and a good solid barra followed it all the way into the bank before opening its massive gob and with a lightning flick of its powerful paddle tail......swam away and never looked back.
Sarrge was his usual positive and encouraging self insisting this was a sign that I was full of shite and that I should stop making up cr.p about big follows.
I on the other hand knew otherwise. When a fish this size follows your lure in on the VERY FIRST CAST in awesome fishable water its a sure sign that this evenings fishing action will eclipse all other culvert runs. The fish are obviously lining up to smash every peice of tin foil wrapped on a hook and splashed somewhere in the damn water. This was going to be awesome. No.....This was going to be EPIC!!
With heart in mouth I cast again....my palms sweating with barely containable trepidation. The lure hit the water with nary a splash. Enticingly it wriggled in amongst the waiting hordes. Any minute now it would be smashed by a magnificently well conditioned salivating barra!! Any minute now.....any second.....annnnnnnnyyyyyyyy............okay so they must have been looking the other way.
Another cast......any minute now......aannnnnnnnnyyyyyyyyyyy..........What the frig?
We never saw another fish.
Not there.
Not the drains on the road.
Not Blackmores.
Not someother useless place that had a creek and a stoopid drain.
Not there....not anywhere.
And then we realised what the problem was and once the penny dropped we felt a whole lot better about the run. What we hadent realised was that....there ARE NO MORE FISH in the Cox peninsular region. None at all. No-one should ever bother fishing there because there is not one single scaled inhabitant. It is dead. Barren. Sans fish. Empty. Rooted. Bare. Stuffed. Devoid. Vacant.
An its ugly.
An stoopid.
_________________ Its not a crisis unless there is blood around. If there is blood around......well its a police matter...
Last edited by Mud on Mon Jan 30, 2012 12:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Posted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 8:17 pm Post subject: Re: Cox Peninsular Culverts Lack Aquafauna...
Well I won't be bothered too come out this way again been stuck for over a hour in the bush now trying too get away from the hords so definitely no barras for me again