Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 7:05 pm Post subject: A Muddy Afternoon at Howard River Rockbar
G'day guys,
so I picked up Pecheur before ducking out to Seano's. We planned to fish Howard River rockbar for the afternoon. Arriving at the rockbar we were pretty happy to see only one car parked there.
The boys took the pisss out of me as I laid my extra shirt on the ground and soaked it in bushmans (front and back) before putting it on and soaking the rest of my body in that evil stuff. I'd been murdered by those bloodsuckers before to the point of insanity and didn't plan on reliving it.
Off through the mud we walked, splitting up to flick lures as we went. We all got a few hits on our first casts but I'm not convinced my hits were from barra. I was using a weedless soft plastic, fishing hard against the rocks, snags and undercut banks.
Two casts, two fish. Both were rat barra 45cm and 25cm. It was a start. Every now and then I'd here that dull thud of an underwater boof right at my feet beneath the undercut banks.
I caught up with Pech soon after who was using hard bodies and he hadn't landed a fish. In the distance was the distinct sound of a fishermen who'd just dropped a good fish (loud swearing).
Meh, we kept fishing.
The black tail of a 65cm barra moved slowly along the surface. It convinced me to forget about the crocodiles and stand awkwardly on some mangrove roots to enable a cast. One of those spots that are great for hooking fish but are almost impossible to land them from. Well I fluck the softy out a few times, the barra disappeared, a few bull sharks swam by and then my line went slack while on the retrieve. I sped the retrieve and gave a quick strike before a nice little thready went spastic on the surface, somehow missing the snags in front of me. Landed it and it went 61cm.
Sean soon met up with us holding a fat 61cm barra and then told us about an 80cm hitting the lure at his feet, that explains the swearing we heard earlier..
A few minutes later, after Sean had wandered off again he returned with a 60cm barra in hand.
We continued to fish the area without much luck before my little soft plastic got crunched on the surface. Sh*t hit the fan for a moment as the fish took line and went through a few snags. At first glance I thought it was much larger but eventually I landed a very silver 71cm fish.
The sun was going down and we soon decided to pack it in.
Poor old Pech didn't catch a fish so I gave him the 71 as a participation award.
131 HOWARD RIVER MOTHERF@#$%^S!!!!
Pech might put more pics up when he gets some time.
Bank:
Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 9:16 pm Post subject: Re: A Muddy Afternoon at Howard River Rockbar
Hi Sheeby, That last photo is downright scary - look like a pair of psychopaths! Doug, I reckon your wrong, probably Buff Creek! Sounds like a bit of fun, but I assume a bit of hard work pushing through the mangroves as well.
Pecheur gets plenty of freebies anyway so it won't hurt him to miss out on catching a fish every so often, except you gave him another freebie anyway!!
Oh, and I hope Seano and Pecheur were laughing on the other side of their faces. Hate those little bitey critters too.
_________________ Cheers,
Ash -----------------
If it doesn't fit, get a bigger hammer and hit it harder!
'You can't have mudcrabs without mud'. My son John
Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 9:33 pm Post subject: Re: A Muddy Afternoon at Howard River Rockbar
Pech was using lures that looked 100 years old, don't know where he gets them His tackle box looked like some sort of weird museum Says to me when I ask about it " I payed for none" I have no idea what he was talking about????
Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 10:07 pm Post subject: Re: A Muddy Afternoon at Howard River Rockbar
seano wrote:
Pech was using lures that looked 100 years old, don't know where he gets them His tackle box looked like some sort of weird museum Says to me when I ask about it " I payed for none" I have no idea what he was talking about????
very good j
_________________ you have to have crack even if your just pissin in the wind
Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2012 12:16 pm Post subject: Re: A Muddy Afternoon at Howard River Rockbar
Quote:
looks like corrobore to me ?? trying to hide ya spots hey fellas ??
lol....sure looks like Howard River to me.....(though its prob Scotts...)
Nice work lads....gotta get Pesh off these stoopid hard bodies....give him a hollow belly and tell him its a reidies that the bib fell off after it sat in the sun and got floppy....
funny the bushmans Sheebs....I used to smell like bait after fishing...now if I ever put bushmans on Sharkgirl asks me if Ive been fishing.......and if I fish somewhere where I dont need it she asks where Ive really been!
Welcome home Sheano!
_________________ Its not a crisis unless there is blood around. If there is blood around......well its a police matter...