I'LL GIVE LAKE BENNETT A GO.

Off to Lake Bennett for a few days over Christmas, a friend owns a bungalow right down near the spillway. Went for a quick gander last weekend, water nowhere near running out, but I’m hoping a few of those big Mummas (that's if there are any left in there) have the urge and are hanging around that end in readiness.
I'm thinking surface lures over the weed beds at night.

Re: I'LL GIVE LAKE BENNETT A GO.

Sounds good blinky, better than what i've got planned over xmas.... stuck at work.... :banghead:
JewieQueen

Post by JewieQueen »

I have had sucess during the day the on Spinner Baits :mrgreen: ... Yep... :mrgreen: thats what i just said.... Kind of scary in a canoe though when you hook up to a fresh water croc and it drags the flipping thing through the lake for a bit then finally busts off..... :sailing:

Good luck Blinky.. I think i will just fish in my esky over the holidays :drinking5: :drinking5:
It has always been my private conviction that any man who pits his intelligence against a fish and loses has it coming.

Give a man a fish, and he can eat for a day. But teach a man how to fish, and he'll be dead of mercury poisoning inside of three years.

“Fishing, with me, has always been an excuse to drink in the daytime”

"Soon after I embraced the sport of angling I became convinced that I should never be able to enjoy it if I had to rely on the cooperation of the fish."

Keep a good eye out for tha banjo players mate.....would hate you to come home with a bump on ya head and a sore bum...:lol:

I was told that them "night walkers" work in there but I don't own any to try it out...you know the ones with the big cups on the head!

2rods wrote:Keep a good eye out for tha banjo players mate.....would hate you to come home with a bump on ya head and a sore bum...:lol:

I was told that them "night walkers" work in there but I don't own any to try it out...you know the ones with the big cups on the head!
:lol: :lol: :lol:

Got heaps of nightwalkers, crazy crawlers and the like.

Thanks for the tip on the spinnerbaits too JQ :mrgreen: , I got a few XXL sizes of them left over from my days of chasing Tigerfish.

Nathan, that's no good mate, you need to get another job!

Post by Bullet »

Hey blinky, look for any creeks or anywhere where water flows into the lake, the barra will try to swim up stream rather than down. :D

I've seen it done over QLD way and it works at Manton as well. Good luck.

Cheers bullet :mrgreen:
Cheers Bullet

I LIVE WITH FEAR, SOMETIMES SHE LETS ME GO FISHING!

DON'T NEED BAIT!

Bullet wrote:Hey blinky, look for any creeks or anywhere where water flows into the lake, the barra will try to swim up stream rather than down. :D

I've seen it done over QLD way and it works at Manton as well. Good luck.

Thanks Bullet :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

andrew.south

Post by andrew.south »

2rods wrote:Keep a good eye out for tha banjo players mate.....would hate you to come home with a bump on ya head and a sore bum...:lol:

Blinky mate if one of them banjo players comes up and says can I push your stool in it's time to stop fishing.... :o :o :D :D hope you get onto a few, fish that is... :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Southy

Very rarely when the ship misses the harbour is it the harbours fault
Buckaneer2

Post by Buckaneer2 »

I have been told first hand they are waiting for you near the dam wall Blinky.
Merry Christmas all.
Smile, be happy & go fishing.

Work is getting in the way of my fishing.
My boss says fishing is getting in the way of my work.
I will soon fix both of our problems by quitting.

Buckaneer2 wrote:I have been told first hand they are waiting for you near the dam wall Blinky.
Merry Christmas all.

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

seafarer

Post by seafarer »

good luck blinky
"hold on "

Post by Bullet »

So blinky, any joy at Lake Bennett??? :? :fishy:

Cheers Bullet

I LIVE WITH FEAR, SOMETIMES SHE LETS ME GO FISHING!

DON'T NEED BAIT!

Bullet wrote:So blinky, any joy at Lake Bennett??? :? :fishy:

No mate, dead as a nit. The young bloke took one hit right off our pontoon but that was it for duration. Plenty of people having a go but no results, a local guy suggested the water was still a little low to get them moving.
Gave Marrakai crossing a look over as well but it was running like a bastard, all we did there was lose lures!

Rammers

Post by Rammers »

bad luck blinky!! All i can say is bring on the run off!!

Lake Bennet is also good for bird watching ,I was delivering gas there on Tues. & noticed not one but two beautifull big breasted pen pushers that have taken up residence in the reception part of the building :shock: