Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2012 2:03 pm Post subject: Roper River Tips
Heading to the Roper River in a couple of weeks. Any pointers would be nice. This is my first trip to the Territory. Planning on camping at Tomato Island.
Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2012 6:37 pm Post subject: Re: Roper River Tips
Yep take plenty of fuel, water & beer. Oh and more beer.
Beware the rock bar out the front of Tomato island. Basically go straight across from the boat ramp to the other bank before turning right to go down stream. Sound it out the first day and you should be right.
Don't ask me about the tides, I gave up trying to work them out.
Go upstream to view the young Australian for a bit of history.
Bank:
Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2012 8:40 pm Post subject: Re: Roper River Tips
take some opera house nets and some dried dog biscuits to bait them with. Tie em with floats or a tag with your name / phone number near some pandanus in the water and you will get some cherabin to use for livebait.
Find some snags, tie up right over them. Put the cherabin straight onto a hook with a running sinker above it. Drop straight down into the snags and hang on!
Posted: Wed Aug 15, 2012 9:30 am Post subject: Re: Roper River Tips
if youre going to tomato island talk to bruce, he lives there and he willl telll u where the fish are, theres tollgate creek near tomato island that fishes well, u cant get up there though, also mountain creek is a really good spot and you can go a fair way up and troll and flick. The store is expensive there my in laws own it and mate without upsetting them i think a big stock up at katherine woolies is the go, great fishing if you get cheabin and just bounce from snag to snag u will pick up fish
_________________ "Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid" -Albert Einstein-
Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 5:37 am Post subject: Re: Roper River Tips
Everybody has generators at TI.
Watch out for Twin Rocks in the middle of the river about 600m downstream of Mountain Ck. Do not attempt to go between them.
Tollgate Ck is about 4 km back on the road in. Good place for fresh water and a bath. I think Gotnone is talking about Barramundi Ck a couple of kms upstream from the ramp on the same side. Tollgate Ck (spring fed) is a feeder ck for Barramundi Ck.
Posted: Sun Sep 16, 2012 11:24 am Post subject: Re: Roper River Tips
Well I'm here at Tomato Island. cherabin are very limited at the moment as are the fish. Some people are doing ok. We have 5 keepers the biggest being 89cm. Being out first time here we are learning a lot fast. It is different than at home(central Qld). We will be back. Probably early next year. Thanks for all the tips.