Posted: Sat May 08, 2010 10:27 pm Post subject: Chucking a lap
Planning on a year off and doing the big lap with boat in tow. Anyone know of the rules around boat rego and boat license and fishing licenses when interstate.
Also thinking of taking a rifle, assume it can be done but how big of a pain in the ass is it?
Posted: Sat May 08, 2010 10:41 pm Post subject:
Coming from Victoria originaly I can tell you that you need a license to fish, a license to drive your boat and the boat has to be registered, unsure how this goes if you're only travelling. If you fish the murray even from the Vic side you'll also need a NSW fishing license!! Seem hard to believe but that's how it goes. Hope this has been fo some help,
Cheers Andy
_________________ Just remember if all else fails "try like F##K" !!!!!!!
with the rifle Im pretty sure you report to the first police station you get to in each state but Im pretty sure that may have gotten a bit harder now.
Posted: Mon May 10, 2010 8:34 am Post subject:
I have travelled Oz for nearly 5 years with a caravan and car topper. I also had a folding boat trailer.
The trailer has to be registered no matter what state or territory you are in.
Every state also has a requirement that boats are registered (except for the NT). Ie you can use a trailer and boat registered in Vic in every other state.
There is a technical requirement to hold a boat licence in each state you are in. ie if driving the boat in NSW, you need a NSW boat licence. If driving the boat in Vic, a Vic boat lic is required. (this is a technical requirement only and most will let you go as long as you have a licence from your state. I overcame this by getting a coxswains ticket that is a one off and covers you everywhere)
Most states now make you hold a fishing licence for that state.
NT has no requirements re fishing licence, boat licence, boat rego but you have to have the trailer registered.
If you stay in one state for more than 3 months, you have to change your rego, drivers licence etc for that state.
Now, for the firearms.
This is a minefield.
When I first started, you could just carry them ‘out if sight’ in a locked vehicle.
When you got to a new state, call into the local cops and advise that you were in town. NOT ANYMORE. A mate used to do this when he went to WA each year. the last time he did it, they confiscated his rifles.
You are supposed to notify the border authorities every time you cross over.
If you go to Tassie, you have to do a mile of paperwork each time you go on the boat across the strait.
I sent emails to every firearms registry in Oz re requirements when travelling. all came back very wishy-washy replies –
I asked specific questions like “what requirements are there is I stay overnight at a motel, caravan park, a friends place, bush camp etc etc.’
all they would say is that they have to be secured.
Carry copies of the firearms registration with you.
Best to satisfy yourself re the firearms. Send emails to each state registry and get them to advise.
I have a proper gun safe fitted like you would at home – except that it's horizontal. Remove the bolts or break them down. Store ammo separately. keep it all locked.
Highscores:32
Posted: Mon May 10, 2010 10:35 am Post subject:
WA is a nightmare atm concerning firearms, for example a pump action Remington centre fire (7615/7600) seems to be perfectly legal everywhere else in Oz except WA!
_________________ Ricky Bobby: Well let me just quote the late-great Colonel Sanders, who said..."I'm too drunk to taste this chicken."
Should of said im from nt... does that mean as NT doesnt have boat license or boat rego i dont need to get one for any where else? Or Should i just go to to the first state i visit and get a license and register the boat?
Fair bit of a process and cost for Coxswains ticket?
Posted: Mon May 10, 2010 10:22 pm Post subject:
Bowser wrote:
Or Should i just go to to the first state i visit and get a license and register the boat?
yes you must have a boat licence and boat rego for every state EXCEPT FOR NT the boat licence will take a couple of days and costs vary - $200?/
Bowser wrote:
Fair bit of a process and cost for Coxswains ticket?
Coxswains took about a month - not a Uni degree or rocket science but you have to work at it.
it is heavily subsidised here (or was in 2001) - i think around $500??
plus, once youve got it, you have it for life no charge and you can pick up work driving boats up to 12m (dive boats, fishing charters etc)