Posted: Fri May 27, 2011 5:07 pm Post subject: Marrakai rock bar
Is anyone willing to part with some details (pm or whatever)where & how to fish Marrakai creek r/ bar on the adelaide ,Im pretty well up with the rest of r/ bars on the A/R ,I have co-ords from FF mag on r/bar for Marrakai but any info would be appreciated
Posted: Fri May 27, 2011 6:59 pm Post subject: Re: Marrakai rock bar
The rockbar is at a place where the creek widens out a bit and is near a small junction. It is above the heavily scrubbed/treed area. Good spot apparently, a guide mate and couple of others used to fish it, but I haven't fished it much so I'm not up with when and how.
There was a school of big fish at the mouth of Marrakai last September, I reckon they were jewies, but they wouldn't take a lure. If they were barra they were big mummas.
Posted: Fri May 27, 2011 9:51 pm Post subject: Re: Marrakai rock bar
Trolling over the top and give the leading edge (closest to Manton ck) a good going over with 10 to 15+ classics is my preferred way of scoring fish there. Also troll the the structure on the left when reaching the rockbar headin upstream, Jig troll with classics moving the boat slow as possible as lures come along side the snags adjacent the rockbar. There is also a lot of timber just under the surface just below Manton ck itself ahead of the rockbar worth trolling over. All this really is best on the change of tide over the low, and first of the incoming. Too much flow during the outgoing.