Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 3:01 pm Post subject: Re: How far from the south ramp to Magela?
Its a 330 km round trip with out any running around or fishing. I have done it and racked up 500km without thinking twice about it. Its a freakin long way especially if it is choppy and point farewell decides to turn angry with wind against tide and flood water.
Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 3:40 pm Post subject: Re: How far from the south ramp to Magela?
ghound wrote:
oh sorry it must be 165km
bl..dy hell mate get it right I wasnt having a crack at ya Ghound. I got the number of 330km out of my diary and notes of the trip so that is what I posted. I know 5km makes no difference and that variation can come from weather it is high tide or low tide and weather you can cut the bend or have to follow it.
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 10:11 am Post subject: Re: How far from the south ramp to Magela?
:-/ 5kms be about 2-3ltrs really for most boats that are doing the trip if you're cutting it that fine prolly a good idea not to be doin these sorts of trips?
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 10:19 am Post subject: Re: How far from the south ramp to Magela?
NathanL wrote:
:-/ 5kms be about 2-3ltrs really for most boats that are doing the trip if you're cutting it that fine prolly a good idea not to be doin these sorts of trips?
That was my point 15 to 20 % extra fuel at least for a trip.
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 5:32 pm Post subject: Re: How far from the south ramp to Magela?
The distance has too many variables to try to calculate it accurately.
You would be a wise man to use the boys figures and allow 20% for variables.
Last trip I did over that way I used 105ltrs for 320k's (60 Yamie). Now I know for a fact that was super economy for me but, only had me and a bit of gear for 2 days in the boat and went both ways down and up the South (cutting the big bends) with the tide and went across the bay in glass off conditions then came back with a 20knot storm up my arse in the arvo.
Too many variables mate allow 20% for the f..kups.
How far from the south ramp to Magela? In answer to your question a long way depending on the driver
_________________ A mans boat is a sign of his strengths and weaknesses???? (and wealth)
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 6:34 pm Post subject: Re: How far from the south ramp to Magela?
Nice one Grumpy i've got a 60 yammie but you had the perfect conditions by the sounds of it. I can work it out with those figures I reckon. The only problem I have now is convincing the boys to bring another boat, I heard of a lot of big fish getting caught there the other day.