Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2008 6:56 pm Post subject:
Hi Drifter,
Sorry I have never heard of any vids, I sure you could get something in America but cost/freight may not be worth it. Did you do a ebay search ?
I have had the same problems with lures getting suspended in branches
I have found casting horizontal accross the water has really worked well for me. I can get it just as far and heaps more accurate. Mind you I tend to fish by myself so I can cast from any where in the boat I like.
I use a egg beater and just hold the rod straight out over the side with the tip down a bit and give it a good flick. The old finger can still be used as a brake if needed.
Maybe tell him to practise that technique I am sure it would help, it also stops people getting hurt standing behind.
SS
_________________ If I had a quirky signature it would be here !
Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2008 7:56 pm Post subject:
Hey drifter I have never heard of anything, , but if his casting ain't that good you have always got that option of "LIVEBAIT" with BC the expert throw netter on board I think casting a baitcaster is something you master after many years of birdsnests and while untangling your mates are pulling barra in hand over fist you soon learn how to cast I think some of the new reels on the market these days have made casting a dream like the new calcutta TE dc reels so maybe look into them as for accuracy that can only come with pratice and time spent practicing with the same equipment you plan to use while fishing
Thanks for the reply guys. Hey Blinky, that link is exactly what I was looking for. Big to ya.
Bear, Pat's problem isn't bird-nesting. I wish it was, that would give me extra casts when on a hot bite. His problem is he will usually put his lure in such a position that its impossible to get another cast in without retreiving his lure fist, which generally puts the fish off The following is just an example. The Barra were laying up just under the bank.
dare i say it but maybe a trip to the optician might be in order. i know my casting improved out of sight (no pun intended) when I got contacts. Also, as the other fellas have said, practice practice practice.
_________________ The Gene pool could use some Chlorine
Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2008 11:12 am Post subject:
Drifter...top little creek that one in the fresh water finnis river
Get old bad caster out on the flat with a rod set up and put a beer can about 20mtrs away...tell him no grog until he hits it 3 times..... then put a few objects around it and tell him not to hit them
Worked for me when I first got my baitcaster... mind you I still get the odd one into the timber
"Life's tough......It's even tougher if you're stupid." .........
Posted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 12:05 am Post subject:
G'day mate no that this is a bit of a late reply but get your mate some casting plugs to have a practise with, as i don't get out fishing as often as i would like (like the rest of us) i find these a great help just to tune up the old action before some trips
_________________ I Find Your Lack Of Fishing Disturbing
Posted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 11:53 am Post subject:
Got a mate with the same problem...and I get one decnt cast before having to go and retrive from the trees, stir up the water and panic the fish.. so I know how you feel.
Practice with the same rod & reel ( I prefer baitcasters) and use an old lure without hooks... Got toi be plenty of space to avoid him pinning the local kids...and I like the beer can rule.