Fishing Territory offers your business affordable banner advertising with click-through and page-view statistics - click here for more information.

* Blogs    * Barrabucks    * The Logo Shop    * Arcade    * Gallery    * Chat    * FAQ    FFF Barramundi Fishing 
  Contact Contact      * Register    * Login  *
   * Register

Would you read an online fishing mag?
yes 33%  33%  [ 7 ]
no 62%  62%  [ 13 ]
undecided 5%  5%  [ 1 ]
Total Votes : 21

1,415,213.95 Barrabucks
Post Posted: Wed Jun 09, 2010 11:13 am    Post subject: Would you buy an online fishing mag?

Would you buy, or switch to, reading a fishing mag online if it were available cheaper than the paper edition?

Or do you like reading only paper mags?

Does the thought of reading a fishing mag on an iPad ring your bell? Or does it horrify you?

LIVEBAITING LOSER - Down and out in Shoal Bay!
JACKHAMMER - The Boat Rego Song - careful, it might kill ya
NEW!!! The 2012 Xtreme NT GPS SD Card - 500 waypoints, one easy upload into your unit

Profile Personal album  

Tonic Hi-Quality EyewearTonic Hi-Quality EyewearTonic Hi-Quality Eyewear

11,218.60 Barrabucks
Post Posted: Wed Jun 09, 2010 11:27 am    Post subject:

I definitely wouldn't.

Case in point is the Sea Media (ie, F&B mag) boat/engine tests.
I used to read them when they were free, they now charge and I wouldn't think of paying money to read it.

Last edited by NathanL on Wed Jun 09, 2010 11:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

6,205.60 Barrabucks
Post Posted: Wed Jun 09, 2010 11:32 am    Post subject:

I enjoy sitting around reading a fishing or boating Mag, its my way of relazing, 8-) 8-) 8-) when I cant get out in the boat that is. :fishing: :fishing:

Dont think reading it on the net is as relaxing.

"I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was blaming you"

Do not argue with an idiot. He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

2,556.95 Barrabucks
Post Posted: Wed Jun 09, 2010 12:00 pm    Post subject:

good for the environment... dont think laptop will like going in the dunny tho :roll:

theres a free online one in westcoast worth checking out for ideas. think its called fishwrecked. they email you when it comes out. pretty bl..dy good considering its free. nothing on territory or barra but.. One positive is the interactive features, you can click and watch a video ect on most pages... :idea:

4,135.00 Barrabucks
Post Posted: Wed Jun 09, 2010 1:33 pm    Post subject:

I'm with CB - not a good look carrying the laptop into the crapper.............. As for sitting in front of a computer for any longer than is absolutely necessary :moon:

16,870.20 Barrabucks
Post Posted: Wed Jun 09, 2010 2:59 pm    Post subject:

If the subscription price also includes the I Pad I'd go for it. :wink:
There’s something about paper mags that’s appealing. I downloaded a heap of books from The Guttenberg project website about explorer journals but I found it almost a chore to read them
I reckon most mags are read on the dumper anyway

1,415,213.95 Barrabucks
Post Posted: Wed Jun 09, 2010 3:19 pm    Post subject:

Quote:
not a good look carrying the laptop into the crapper

:lol: :lol: :lol:

Yep, I can't say I would read an online fishing mag.

Which is a shame because it is much more efficient way of distribution.

It seems people like paper, except when looking for the latest news, or joining chat group/forums like this.

LIVEBAITING LOSER - Down and out in Shoal Bay!
JACKHAMMER - The Boat Rego Song - careful, it might kill ya
NEW!!! The 2012 Xtreme NT GPS SD Card - 500 waypoints, one easy upload into your unit

Profile Personal album  

6,032.90 Barrabucks
Post Posted: Wed Jun 09, 2010 3:19 pm    Post subject:

I have a rack next to my throne holding heaps of mags get some good plans hatched in there
Also you can read a mag by candle light when the power goes out
Having said that...I'm involved in the print industry and I have an idea of the rising costs involved with producing a magazine
Something substantial like North Australian FishFinder mag would be good to have with all it's gps marks available to drag and drop into a gps hooked up to your computer also the ability to zoom pictures would be good
but if i had to choose between the 2 it'd have to be hard copy

14,967.40 Barrabucks
Post Posted: Wed Jun 09, 2010 4:01 pm    Post subject:

Paper edition for me thats for sure. I understand it is more pricey, but much better in my opinion. I doubt I would read it if it was online, but that is just me.

129.00 Barrabucks
Post Posted: Wed Jun 09, 2010 4:09 pm    Post subject:

I do enjoy the good old paper variety, but I reckon I would probably go back and re-read articles that I found useful if I could store them on my hard-drive.

74.00 Barrabucks
Post Posted: Wed Jun 09, 2010 5:04 pm    Post subject:

I would definitely prefer the printed mag and would only go online if it wasn't available in print. Having said that there are a heap of younger people where I work that seem to only consult their beloved IPhone for information so maybe future generations will be more inclined toward online mags....

3,832.60 Barrabucks
Post Posted: Wed Jun 09, 2010 5:51 pm    Post subject:

Hi All,
Can't say I would be inclined to buy a soft copy format, then again the last year has seen me buy very little in the way of hard copy fishing mags either, I buy the nt mag and one other gamefishing based mag now. I'm sorry, but if I read one more article about Bream/Snapper on plastics I'm going to punch someone. I find it of great concern that fishing journos are managing to flog marginally different versions of the same trip/technique in the same month WITH THE SAME PHOTOS and getting away with it. And I think a certain prominent journo is about due to trot out his ever reliable "Top ten best fighting fish" article he recycles every few years. Oh and did you hear? Rattling spot type lures are the next big thing for Barra..... :rofl:
Unfortunately the printed fishing media in Australia with a few worthy exceptions has stalled and is starting to get very boring.
I for one don't want to read about fish I don't catch and boats I will never afford in my wildest dreams any more. Don't get me wrong I know not everyone lives in the North and Bream fishermen are a big target audience but the majority of the bream on the East coast are pond cockroaches and get way more attention than they actually deserve.

Cheers, :drinking1:
John.

11,456.95 Barrabucks
Post Posted: Wed Jun 09, 2010 6:54 pm    Post subject:

I would like to have access to an online version and a paper version. I would pay extra to have both. :mrgreen:

Profile Personal album  

13,206.30 Barrabucks
Post Posted: Wed Jun 09, 2010 7:38 pm    Post subject:

Not yet but in five years time when ipads are all over the show and cheap yes.

Handy to be able to save them and bring up an article by doing a search with just a couple of key words or check out all of one writers stories. If that was on offer as well as magnifying text it I left my glasses somewhere.

The options boggle the mind. Bring it on but slow and steady so we all get used to it.

Profile Personal album  

6,205.60 Barrabucks
Post Posted: Wed Jun 09, 2010 9:46 pm    Post subject:

deepblack wrote:
I'm sorry, but if I read one more article about Bream/Snapper on plastics I'm going to punch someone. I find it of great concern that fishing journos are managing to flog marginally different versions of the same trip/technique in the same month WITH THE SAME PHOTOS and getting away with it. And I think a certain prominent journo is about due to trot out his ever reliable "Top ten best fighting fish" article he recycles every few years. Oh and did you hear? Rattling spot type lures are the next big thing for Barra..... :rofl:
John.

John, I thopught it was just me ! :banghead: :banghead: I just cant believe that the editors form competing mags buy a story already published with a (very) few changes & most of the same photos & it doesnt happen just once !

If I buy a Mag I would like it to be the frist time I've read the story or at least a bit different

:evil: :evil: :evil:

"I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was blaming you"

Do not argue with an idiot. He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

FFF Barramundi Fishing Board index » FISH FINDER TM Barramundi Fishing & Other Forums - Barramundi Fishing & more » Fishing Polls

# Would you buy an online fishing mag? Previous topic | Next topic # 
 Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts