It looks like the boat related crimes in the Darwin area are on the increase. With only 2 available do we need more? The one at Buff ck is very limited by tides.
I would use it. Surely there are enough fishos and the compound would be big enough that you could bit in sufficient cars and trailers to make a good quid from $20 per day or part day. My only sook is that you get tight ar*es who just park up near the fence knowing that being close enough to the care taker without paying is a good enough deterrent. It would create a few jobs too - maybe some funding from the Federal Govt is in order!!! That said, it would probably be something voters would like, so rest assured the lovely Ranga in charge wouldn't back it!
It should be free. Although $20 is not as bad as forking $100 or more for damages that could be incurred. Oh! i'm one of those that park near the fence when it hasn't been already taken up
I put in at buff creek today, the cops were down there because, two cars had there window smashed in. It was done in the middle of the day with heaps of people hanging around. It blows me away no one seen anything.
I think $10 bucks is a small price to pay for peace of mind.
Posted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 8:51 am Post subject: Re: Secure compounds
I was at Buff thursday as well. I cant see how they make a $ @ $10/day. It doesnt take the crooks long to break into a car and rip it off. less than a minute. I reckon they do training courses in prison while we learn things like trades
Surely if ya take all your valuables out and leave nothing in sight of the scum bags, they wouldnt want to smash your windows in. Its gotta be something that catches there eye that makes em break in, or are they just low lifes... More I think about it I guess its the latter.
Wouldnt mind rigging up one of the pink dye sprays that ya see on the tv, hook it up to an alarm or something so when they break in they cop a face full of it. Hmm...
_________________ Fishing in the top end isn't just a matter of life or death, it's much much more serious than that.
Surely if ya take all your valuables out and leave nothing in sight of the scum bags, they wouldnt want to smash your windows in. Its gotta be something that catches there eye that makes em break in, or are they just low lifes... More I think about it I guess its the latter.
Wouldnt mind rigging up one of the pink dye sprays that ya see on the tv, hook it up to an alarm or something so when they break in they cop a face full of it. Hmm...
I know a bloke at Mandorah who left everything unlocked and windows down. when they realsied they had noting to pinch, they busted his mirrors. He belted one of em with a golf club and got done for it. Seems you cant defend your property
Posted: Sat Jul 30, 2011 12:15 am Post subject: Re: Secure compounds
nomad wrote:
Turtle wrote:
I know a bloke at Mandorah who left everything unlocked and windows down. when they realsied they had noting to pinch, they busted his mirrors. He belted one of em with a golf club and got done for it. Seems you cant defend your property
In the old days of buffalo creek we used to leave the car open with the windows down. Just to be arseholes they wound the windows up and smashed them. I think that said enough.
As for getting done for hitting them with a golf club that says enough as well. The people making the laws are all crooks as well. About time we all bashed the do gooder tossers that look after the criminal. I think the courts and lawyers of the criminals should be charged with harboring fugitives and overting the course of Justice.