What fish is this?

Mud
Jedi Seadog
Jedi Seadog

What fish is this?

Post by Mud »

Well I reckon its a bat fish but every where I go from fishing charters to dinner at the wharf I hear people calling them moonies (moonfish). I thought moonfish were rounder?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Its not a crisis unless there is blood around.
If there is blood around......well its a police matter...
stuart
Seadog
Seadog

Post by stuart »

doesn't look like a moony but im no expert . could it be a permit?
tezza1
Seadog
Seadog

Post by tezza1 »

It is known by several names including silver moonfish,butter-bream and butterfish.Scientific name is monodactylidae argenteus. :cheers:
fishfanatic
Jedi Seadog
Jedi Seadog

Post by fishfanatic »

Trust Mud to catch something different - it's a pirahna of course :P :grin:
'Take me drunk, I'm home"
Unknown

"Conformity is the jailer of freedom and the enemy of growth".
John F. Kennedy

"The first principle of a free society is an untrammeled flow of words in an open forum"
Adlai E. Stevenson

"We are willing enough to praise freedom when she is safely tucked away in the past and cannot be a nuisance. In the present, amidst dangers whose outcome we cannot foresee, we get nervous about her, and admit censorship".
Forster, Edward

"Freedom is the right to tell people what they do not want to hear"
George Orwell

"Political Correctness is a doctrine, fostered by a delusional, illogical minority, and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end."
by Anonymous
4x4xfar
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post by 4x4xfar »

It's definetly not a Batfish, Moonfish or a Permit.

It is most commonly and simply refered to as a Mono, derived from the first part of its scientific name monodactylus
nomad
Jedi Seadog
Jedi Seadog

Post by nomad »