Posted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 12:05 am Post subject: Leader's creek crabs
I been fishing the bluewater for the last 3 weekend so it was time to get a feed of muddies. After hearing that the road was freshly graded the decision was to go to leaders.
Road was really good execept for afew big donuts from some clown decide to crave into the road for the first 1km. Kept an eye out but didnt see a ss ute passing me at 140k per hour
Threw 10 pots in and went trawling for a bit. Water was really dirty and about 22 degrees so we were not overly confident. It was blowing it's tits off so we soaked some bait for a bit.
The bl..dy crabs were that thick they were eating our baits. We landed 4-5 just from bottom bashing. Got sick of them pinching bait so we went back to trawling.
Got 30 keepers in about 4 hours. Keep 20 of the best and headed home with no fish in the esky.
We did a bit of a test using tuna head, mac frame, red emp frame, goldies frames, tricky frames and some chicken thigh pieces. The stand out bait was tuna followed by the mac.
This has got to be the best crabbing season I've ever seen.
Spoke to Chris's offsider about the boat accident at SWA. He reckon the old fella not doing to well and is at risk of loosing his arm. He got some bad infection.