Posted: Tue May 20, 2008 8:20 am Post subject: Barra Classic 2008......
Well after a few days RnR I thought a quick report was in order.
I was lucky enough to fish the classic this year with Blinkys Blazers... skipper was Blinky and Jack and I were the crew. We got down to the Banyan Farm on Friday arvo and set up camp and settled in...and got some gear ready for the "kids day"
SAT
Got on the water after the brief at around 9am... Blinky had his son Liam on board and I had 1rod on there too. We headed down river towards the s bends and trolled for a few hours... Lost 1 small fish ....and 1rod landed a a 56cm job...it was tagged and released...Tagging was a first for me..never done it before after that it was a bit slow and at lines out we headed back to the pontoon....
All of the kids got an awesome fishing pack each including a rod and reel ..all up a top effort for the kids and hats off to the DGFC for such a top event. (jordan doevy and Matty's daughter also fished the comp)
SUN
Oriantation day..... got up earlyish and headed down river for a good look around.... I don't know the river very well and I have only fished it about 3-4 times in the last 15 years, so I was very happy to be in a boat with Blinky...he knows that river like the back of his hand
We found a few nice fish on the snags and we landed some lovely fat silver fish.... Jack got the biggest fish in the boat with a prime 90cm fish
MON
Up early and ready for the sail past...we were all dressed as Presidents of the USA...very funny and we won the "slick" part of the sail past... After that it was off down the river.. We had a good day and we all got fish...
TUE
On the water early and straight to the snags for some lure dragging...Picked up some good pointers for trolling through an under water forrest With the right technic you can drag a 5mtr lure through a snag in 2mtrs of water The fishing was a bit harder for us on day 2... lots of little fish around but the bigger fish were not staying connected like they should have?
WED
Blinky and Jack fished well on Wednesday...were I had a shocker..seems a few days in the boat with not enough water had caught up with me and I spent most of the day on the deck crook I did get 1 fish of 70cm but that was it..lucky the rest of the crew had big shoulders.
THUR
Felling better I was geared up for a big one.....but it was not to be...I dropped the only good fish I hooked..right at the boat... It was a strange day on the river...boats around us were hooking fish and we justed seemed to miss out?? Blinky still got a few as did Jack so we kept our pants on...
FRI
Last day.... we went down river and trolled some nice water arount the top of the s bends..but the fish didn't want to play...Blinky and Jack both got fish but I could only manage 30cm jobs ?? The day ended with a bit of fun and frivolity and I got to see some of the best roster tails ever thrown
Rap up
All in all it was hard fishing for me... some people donged it..I just didn't stay connected to the fish?? had the hits but not the hook ups?
I was very lucky to get down there and fish the comp...and a big thankyou to BLINKY for the seat and also to Jack who has fished with Blinky for a long time. It was good to fish with 2 people who know the river so well
It was also great to catch up with a few of the blokes I don't get to see that often and many a beer was had after dinner talking poop and having a giggle.
It works out to be a very big week and I think I need a week off now to get over it but that is not going to happen Now it's time for the blue water fishing
On a sad note ..I was horrified at the number of cherabin pots in the river.... I don't know what the barra are going to eat once the grey nomads have "stolen" all there food
PS. I'll post pic's later ..BUT I didn't take too many.
"Life's tough......It's even tougher if you're stupid." .........
Posted: Tue May 20, 2008 10:06 am Post subject:
2Rods has just about said it all here. Good write up mate.
A tournament I would personally like to forget fishing-wise, don’t get me wrong, I still had a fantastic week if only for the camaraderie, socializing and banter!
A big thanks to 2Rods, Wil and Liam for the Kids Day, and a huge thanks to 2Rods and Jacko The Lizard for their magnificent company and humour in what was a hard week of fishing!
The Barra Classic still reigns as the highlight of my fishing calendar……….wouldn’t miss it for quids!!!!!!!!!!
Nitro Boys ended up clear winners of Champion Team by a daylight margin.
Biggest fish went to Ross McCubbin at 103 cm.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post. _________________ Blinky
"I'd like to have a beer-holder on my guitar like they have on boats" "You want heavy?..............we'll give you heavy" James Hetfield
"Gus is dead.......we've got work to do" Walter White
Posted: Tue May 20, 2008 5:31 pm Post subject:
Great report 2rods and excellent photos Blinky Geeze 2rods you're looking pretty pale in that first photo Would love to compete in the classic one day but after seeing first hand what goes on I'll have to get some serious drinking practice in
Posted: Tue May 20, 2008 8:49 pm Post subject:
Hi everyone, just back from the Classic also. There was 3 meterys caught a 100 by Dicko in the Minkota team, a 102 by (cant remember must be to much McKennas) & a 103 by Ross McCubbin also quite a lot in the 90s & 80s as the total scores reflect with the top teams scoring 3000 to 5500 points. Last years winner scored 2185 points.
Total of 1500 plus fish caught by 45 teams but not near enough by me or my team. I believe it was my worst result ever was unable to convert strikes into points but still had a great time. We had a weeks fishing before the comp & had an absolute ball. More fun than the comp, still would not miss either as long as I am capable of holding a rod. Same as Blinky, the highlight of my yearly fishing calander.
_________________ Smile, be happy & go fishing.
Work is getting in the way of my fishing.
My boss says fishing is getting in the way of my work.
I will soon fix both of our problems by quitting.
Posted: Wed May 21, 2008 9:21 am Post subject:
Crikey, I hope you two (Blinky and 2rods) peeled the FFF sticker off the boat as soon as you realised you weren't going to be in the top three winning teams
Posted: Wed May 21, 2008 9:55 pm Post subject:
Just got back from the classic as well, Had a great time same as alot of guys just could not keep the fish on the line. The jnr comp was a great day liam took out the biggest fish at 86cm. My young bloke was to young to be in the comp so he came along as a passanger and got 2 rats he had a ball. again great weeks fishing. More photos can be seen here http://ninakphotography.myjalbum.net/