Posted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 7:23 pm Post subject: Cherabin
Been seeing lots of little ones around the culvetts Going out tonight to get some for a mates dam Going to be a slow job stocking it with only 10 a night as the limmit
Shaun
_________________ The past is history,the future is mystery,the moment is a gift and that's why it's called the present
Posted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 7:31 pm Post subject: Re: Cherabin
They will definitely walk out mate, cherabin don't mind wandering accross dry land at certain times of the year. They eat just about anything, meat, decomposing leafs, berries, you name it.
Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 12:05 am Post subject: Re: Cherabin
BEAR wrote:
shaggs, redclaw would be the better choice for stocking your mates dam.
Going to put both in Bear and may the fittest survive Got a few barra in there as well but they will probably chew on the crustaceans if we dont keep a supply of bait fish up to them
Shaun
_________________ The past is history,the future is mystery,the moment is a gift and that's why it's called the present
Last edited by shaggs on Thu Feb 24, 2011 8:48 am, edited 1 time in total.
Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 12:29 am Post subject: Re: Cherabin
Hey mate,
Like Bear said you'd be better off with redclaw or even one of the smaller river prawns. You'll know the difference because smaller cherabin have crazy reddish lines and patterning on them, while north Australian river prawns are general brown, sometimes they have two vertical line on the side of their body. Cherabin are aggressive little cannibles. That's why they don't get farmed.
Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 8:47 am Post subject: Re: Cherabin
Sheeby wrote:
Hey mate,
Like Bear said you'd be better off with redclaw or even one of the smaller river prawns. You'll know the difference because smaller cherabin have crazy reddish lines and patterning on them, while north Australian river prawns are general brown, sometimes they have two vertical line on the side of their body. Cherabin are aggressive little cannibles. That's why they don't get farmed.
Sheeby.
This is a great forum Heaps of knowledge around the members Thanks for the advice
Highscores:1
Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 12:26 pm Post subject: Re: Cherabin
Shaggs
Try a handfull of chook pellets in a few spots up the river. Works for me you scare the ones you dont get but by time you get back to the first pile they are there again. I just use a cast nett just grab a handful and place it over them dont cast it.
Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 2:11 pm Post subject: Re: Cherabin
Barra Mauler 2 wrote:
Shaggs
Try a handfull of chook pellets in a few spots up the river. Works for me you scare the ones you dont get but by time you get back to the first pile they are there again. I just use a cast nett just grab a handful and place it over them dont cast it.
With the new limits these days ,shouldn't need to use anything other than 1 opera house trap
Shaun