Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:15 am Post subject: Best bait for cherabin
what p[eoples thought on the best bait for cherabin, i have tried cat food, chook pellets and the best the i found is pilchards. must say i ahve necer really done well with only ever getting 4 or 5 out of 6 pots, ands nothing ever of size. any tips would be appreciated as well.
cheers brad
Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2006 1:44 pm Post subject: dog biscuits.
I use the dry dog biscuits, if they are small just put them in a section of stocking so they dont fall out. They swell up and the cherabin can only get a little bit at a time. Work really well eh but make sure you clean them out well if you have a dog................. I have no bags in my pots at the moment as I left them on the lawn and the dog chewed em all off
I also cable tie my pots shut and I don't use a float. I use a green cordline with my name etc on a tag on the pot.............. cuts down on the share farmers a bit I reckon.
chanos.
_________________ Fishing is not a matter of life and death, it is far more serious than that.
Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2006 6:28 pm Post subject: bait
Mate
i use pure velvet soap -not sure how environmentally friendly that is but it is supposed to be all natural. Works really well - dropped 4 pots int he adelaide behind goat island for 3 hours on the weekend and ended up with 4 nice big ones and maybe 6 small ones - the tank barra loved the little ones and the young deckhand barbequed the big ones
I have tried lots of other stuff but the velvet soap works a treat.
_________________ Work is what i do to pay for fishing!!
I have used everything from half boil potatoes through to fish scraps and have found that the best results have been with the Velvet soap and must be unsented.
_________________ The way to a fishermans heart is through his fly!!
Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2006 10:12 pm Post subject: Re: bait
Shane Doevy wrote:
Mate i use pure velvet soap -not sure how environmentally friendly that is but it is supposed to be all natural. Works really well - dropped 4 pots int he adelaide behind goat island for 3 hours on the weekend and ended up with 4 nice big ones and maybe 6 small ones - the tank barra loved the little ones and the young deckhand barbequed the big ones I have tried lots of other stuff but the velvet soap works a treat. Shane
A friend of mine who used to live in Katherine mentioned using soap and he said it's the best he's ever used. Like you said, not sure how it is for the environment and can't vouch for it myself since I've never used it but I've heard it's the best.
Posted: Sat Aug 05, 2006 12:43 pm Post subject:
I reckon it's all about keeping your bait in the pot. Put some dry catfood doused in tuna oil into a sock. zip tie it into the pot so it is suspended in between the bottom and the top. That might help keep out small sharks and rays.
chicken pellets are ok if you use an old stocking to keep them in the pot
just as good as the old velvet soap
i think it just depends on how many cherabin are in the area at the time to how many you catch and also what time of year it is.
Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2006 1:14 am Post subject:
Chook pellets are definately worth a try they work every time for me and i was using them as bait on the Daly recently and am stuck . As to how to keep them alive on my hook for more than 5 minutes that is Any tips would be appreciated
_________________ Go the live-baiters!
Last edited by Chronic on Sat Mar 17, 2007 6:23 am, edited 1 time in total.