Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:03 pm Post subject: Cahill Crossing this weekend
Hey all,
Im heading out this weekend to the stone country festival.
Ive never headed out across the crossing before and am not sure if my honda crv will do. Planning on heading across on the low tide on saturday morning (3.1m) and head back on sunday morning (3.7m)
does anyone know if water will be across the crossing or what the go is???
Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:54 pm Post subject: Re: Cahill Crossing this weekend
gday rockviewau, it takes a 5.5m and above to break over the crossing. check out willyweather under the kakadu link and it will give you cahills crossing tide times aswell. you'll be right though.
Bank:
Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 12:31 am Post subject: Re: Cahill Crossing this weekend
Hi rockviewau, I've taken our CRV over the crossing before - only had about a foot of water over it, but my wife was a bit nervous; infact she had driven up to the crossing and then handed over the driving!! Probably NOT a good idea to get out and check the depth first though if you think it is marginal
And don't be convinced that Toyota's are bulletproof either, plenty of them been washed over the side 'cause their drivers reckoned "she'll be right mate, I'm in a Toyota (insert Cruiser, Troopy, Hilux as appropriate)......"
_________________ Cheers,
Ash -----------------
If it doesn't fit, get a bigger hammer and hit it harder!
'You can't have mudcrabs without mud'. My son John