Shaft Length ..... how long is yours?? (Minn kota)

G'day, Just wondering what people are using on ~5.5m boats. getting an ipilot for my sea jay just need to figure out what length I need?
54in seems to be the common size, but is anyone running a 60in shaft?

Re: Shaft Length ..... how long is yours?? (Minn kota)

Hi Nathan

In the process of doing the same for my Ocean Master. I am going 60" shaft more so for the blue water stuff. Have had a bit of feed back that 54" can be a bit short in sloppy sea's.
Sacky

Post by Sacky »

6m gs, 60"

Go 60 if you're going to use spot lock on choppy blue water.
doors off

Post by doors off »

Nathan, I run the 60" shaft. You can always shorten it by lowering the collar but impossible to lengthen if you go for the 54". I would recommend going for the 60" on your boat.

Happy Birthday too. Hope that you had a great time.
Save the Tuna - Eat a Dolphin!

6.1m and 60" shaft

Length or girth Lats ?
Smudge

Post by Smudge »

Nathan I run a 4.8m and find that sometimes on maximum depth on spot lock, sloppy seas and 2 of us down the back of the boat it can still hit the surface. Agree with 'doors off' go the max and adjust it down if needed. Can't add to it later.
Tight lines and empty spools !
ken_dog

Post by ken_dog »

Nath seems 60" is the go, sorry to hijack but what pound thrust are you lads with 6m hulls running?
I've heard a prominant darwin fisho with new 7+ Metre fiberglass hull is running the new 112lb and loving it.
ken_gilchrist

Post by ken_gilchrist »

60 inch also. As stated already, you can't make a shorter one longer.

Vegetarian - Ancient tribal slang for the village idiot that can't hunt or fish.
Sacky

Post by Sacky »

ken_dog wrote:Nath seems 60" is the go, sorry to hijack but what pound thrust are you lads with 6m hulls running?
80lb. Largest 24v setup I could get.

36v was too complicated to recharge.

Dont stinge on the batteries and it will run all day no probs.

Mate got a 6m plate with 80 lb 60 shaft and struggles to hold spot lock of Dundee on the big tides. He reckon it's only good for turn of the tide in Darwin harbour. I was thinking about getting one for my formosa 580 but need to go next size up which is really expensive.

My 55lb mk is great in the creek for my 455 topender but struggles in the blue water.