Boat shares

justlearning

Boat shares

Post by justlearning »

Any one interested in going halves In a boat.
I get one week off after every month and 2 weeks off over
Christmas at this stage. I don't get out that often.
I am thinking An Ocean Master or something like that
to around 80 k. A 50 / 50 split or what ever
I would Be Interested in all sugestions
Share all costs rego insurance serving etc
except fuel of course Just fuel it up at the
end of the day something along those lines.

AJay

Re: Boat shares

Post by AJay »

not interested, but a good idea to save dramas down the track with your servicing costs due to one person racking up more hours than the other is to just have a kitty, where whoever uses the boat puts in say 7-10 bucks per engine hour going off the cost of an average service, plust say 20% to cover stuff like wheel bearings and tyres etc. could even do a by the hour pricing to include insurance and rego.

Buying a boat or whatever with someone else can be a headache that I wouldn't do, have you considered just hiring due to your lack of time too, be cheaper in the long run and less headache or just find someone with a nice boat and buy them enough beer till they will lend it to you

Jackh

Post by Jackh »

I did it when i was an apprentice due to not being able to afford a boat on my own. My mate and i went halves in a 10k Hornet, it worked out well, we often fished together so it didnt matter so much. When we bought it we drew up a contract together and both signed it, we had 50% of the total costs for everything even if the other used it more it evened itself out anyway. You have to be flexible and relaxed but it works great if you have a good partner. Ive ofter considered doing it for a big blue water boat, due to i already have a 5mtr boat and i can't afford to buy another on my own, but id look at a 4 way partnership for that so we could buy something flash.

I did it years ago. Was a pita. In the end I ended up buying him out

With a close mate the idea might work but I wouldn't go into an agreement with a total stranger.

My mates and I who fish regularly together and have our own boat often talk about chipping in 1-2k each to buy a shared crabbing rig. Big difference between 2k and 40k I guess.

Other things I would consider.

What happens if the other bloke got p...ed and wrote of the 80k boat and insurance won't cover it.
How would you hold him accountable for your 40k.

Too many of these type of senerio which will make it difficult.
I Wish

Post by I Wish »

Just get a few mates together and hire a boat and split the cost.

Work out how much you will save by doing it this way and how often you would do it.

Known quite a few blokes who have tried this, every single venture turned to poop with them arguing over one thing or another (one pair were life long buddies, but aren't an longer), especially when it went down to splitting costs............nothing good can come from it..........

2 brothers fishing

Post by 2 brothers fishing »

I went halves with my brother in our boat and we argue about things all the time.... Could be cause we are brothers tho..
jersy

Post by jersy »

Hire boats would be my suggestion too.
Whale Oil Beef Hooked!
fish4me123

Post by fish4me123 »

It's a lot of money if things go sour.
tight lines

That sort of money would pay for a lot of charters and you dont even have to touch the fish ,except for a photo maybe LOL
trevor schultz

Post by trevor schultz »

I've a 6.5m oceanmaster for sale have a search through the classifieds on the forum
c9h14n

Post by c9h14n »

Have bought heaps of stuff over the years with share arrangements with mates, from box trailers to tile saws, small tinnies with a 30 yammie, whacker packers etc. but nobody should go into an agreement for that amount. Just hire one when you need it. Cheap stuff that you only need to find where it's living each weekend is a far cry from maintaining any large boat.

Good way to ruin a friendship! Buy a smaller boat outright and hire a bigger one between you when you want it