Bank:
Highscores:8
Posted: Sat Oct 15, 2011 10:01 pm Post subject: Interstate fishos SW Gulf - spot the Territorian
Went on another fishing trip up to King Ash Bay area recently. I couldn't help but notice the amount of Queenslanders there this time. While some are from the Mt Isa area most were from far and wide. Of the 32 cars/trailers at the ramp 31 were from either Qld, NSW or Vic. The bulk however were from QLD. There was one NT registered vehicle.
I asked a few of the old salts why they travel so far and don't just go to Karumba or Weipa etc the general reply was - "better fishing and crabbing". It's even got to a point where they apply QLD size limits to fish caught there as the sole purpose is to travel back across the border with their quota of barra and crabs.
As a long term Territorian I find this kind of annoying as the mentality is still pretty well bag out at all costs then return home with the booty. I understand that this does have some benefit in terms of local business etc, but can't help but feel some concern long term. While there are some like minded fishos that go for the overall fishing experience there is still a sense of plundering that one gets after visiting the place. Its kind of like people being able to pick fruit from the tree in your back yard type feeling.
Posted: Sat Oct 15, 2011 11:09 pm Post subject: Re: Interstate fishos SW Gulf - spot the Territorian
It's always been like that at King Ash Bay, if they stuck to NT possession limits, then all would be well.
However there have been some horrendous busts down that way, with filled freezers, and I suspect for every bust there are 20 who get away without being caught.
A permanent border check would fix it pretty quickly ...
Posted: Sun Oct 16, 2011 4:05 am Post subject: Re: Interstate fishos SW Gulf - spot the Territorian
Turtle and I had an old knob wander up the first arvo we camped at KAB bragging how good a fisherman he was while sipping daintily from a glass of red with ice cubes tinkling away "got 7 today...had to give a few away to that mob" pointing to his neighbours "gotta keep it legal haha" Hopefully when the current crop of nomads kick the bucket there'll be a few more replace them that don't think the world owes em a free shot Always seems to be the ones with the biggest vans and 4wds that rort the system the most too
_________________ The charm of fishing is that it is the pursuit of what is elusive but attainable, a perpetual series of occasions for hope.
Highscores:22
Posted: Sun Oct 16, 2011 9:31 am Post subject: Re: Interstate fishos SW Gulf - spot the Territorian
Had similar experiencc at channel point a couple of months ago,they were cleaning up every day ,I sought of mentioned about our bag limits and the didnt realy care as they were going home .I felt like havin a chat to the ranger but he didnt come around before they left.I,m not bitchin about a couple of fish as id seen in their freezer (big tuckerbox ) it was bl..dy FULL. Very sad ....hope I dont turn into a F,,, Wit when i retire
Posted: Sun Oct 16, 2011 10:28 am Post subject: Re: Interstate fishos SW Gulf - spot the Territorian
Grey F250..30' Winnebago..got a shop size freezer built in..Pr...ck had it full..Posted the story a while back when the GN was caught at the Daly. Sells to his mate with shop to pay for the holiday..Rang fisheries in Vic with rego, still haven't heard anything back.. probably won't, seeing the fish weren't taken in Vic. Spend most of me time on th' highway..third trailer flick as a welcoming gesture is on the cards should I catch him in the mirrors on his next raid.
_________________ " YOUTH is a GIFT " "AGE is an ART ""Doesn't mean you get any smarter..just wrinkled and cracked".
Bank:
Highscores:8
Posted: Sun Oct 16, 2011 4:42 pm Post subject: Re: Interstate fishos SW Gulf - spot the Territorian
DOUG wrote:
Decent tide with a net does more damage than a few nomads do on there little holiday !!!
Too hot for most of the nomads over there now most have gone back home. Most are seasoned fisherman that generally do the same trip each year and their motivation is to more or less catch their quota.
No doubt about nets doing damage to stocks, but if you take a trip over there you will discover that the fishing effort is substantial. Not just a few nomads on their little holiday, if that were the case I wouldn't have raised the subject.
Posted: Mon Oct 17, 2011 9:45 am Post subject: Re: Interstate fishos SW Gulf - spot the Territorian
i just got back from fishing kab last week.
normally my camp has the fisheries go through it but i didnt see them this trip( allthough i dont worry them with a 40 litre engal that has to have a weeks food in it as well )
i dont think the abuse of fish comes from any particular state.its a just a greedy type of person that keeps fish just to freeze and thow out 6 months later or like the previous post to "sell "
ive seen the fisheries at kab go through a camp near us two years ago in march and fine them for everything.it was a huge camp and they had way over the limit for barra and snapper
early the next morning the whole camp was gone.
_________________ you have to have crack even if your just pissin in the wind
Posted: Mon Oct 17, 2011 1:14 pm Post subject: Re: Interstate fishos SW Gulf - spot the Territorian
Even if it's a 100 nomads there thats only 500 fish a day. Which I doubt happens that often!! Commercial fisherman would be minimum of 100 fish per day!!! That's nearly everyday while commercial fishing is still going on a amateurs stake in it is near non existent in my honest opinion !
Posted: Mon Oct 17, 2011 3:41 pm Post subject: Re: Interstate fishos SW Gulf - spot the Territorian
DOUG wrote:
Even if it's a 100 nomads there thats only 500 fish a day. Which I doubt happens that often!! Commercial fisherman would be minimum of 100 fish per day!!! That's nearly everyday while commercial fishing is still going on a amateurs stake in it is near non existent in my honest opinion !
Might as well give up on the pro bashing Doug, it goes nowhere, just look how long and far the last "ban the chambers bay netters "post went a few weeks back ..... nowhere. Havent a clue why, but that what people must really think I guess, and as they say, its a free country. I wonder if the grey nomads let em soak up the NT sun for a few hours before they slip em in the engle or if they havent caught onto that one yet.