14lb is all i use but i noticed that the new generation braids are even thinner than the 14lb braid im currently using so when i have to replace the line i may go up to 20lb
_________________ Fishhard reel service a cast past the rest
Posted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 7:33 pm Post subject:
I am using 30lb braid on a calcutta 400, I found it great on snags the hooks can bend out getting the lure back but learnt my lesson the hard way on big fish as the same thing happenned trying to turn its head.
Posted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 8:34 pm Post subject:
I like it for the same reason as dodgy and also do a fair bit of land based fishing and like having ample line capacity. The 400 can be a bit of a challenge casting light lures into the wind but found the similar results casting with the 200 into the wind.
Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 7:27 pm Post subject:
20 lb is cool but I found I lost too many fish. Great for getting lures down deep.
30 lb is a good allrounder. Plenty of extra to keep fish out of structure but still casts and handles allright. Still not enough for big Barra though.
50 lb is my choice for bait. Got sick of being busted off by big fish in the stags on 30 lb. Still get busted off by big fish in the snags Not so good for casting.
Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 10:45 pm Post subject:
I use 8 & 10 kg Platypus braid. I also use calctta 250's because the are much lighter, and less cumbersome for me, when you fish days on end like in the Classic. I have never had a line capcity issue. Thats what boats are for!
Highscores:2
Posted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 2:11 am Post subject:
I use 20lb braid on a chronach 100b for casting, awesome reel and a calcutta 300TE with 30lb braid for trolling snags or when targeting big run off barra. Also use a daiwa certate 4000 with 30lb for casting big soft plastics as well as jigging and casting in blue water.
Have caught barra to 92cm on a 2500 symetre and 10lb braid using soft plastics. All good fun
_________________ "I was reading about the evils of drinking, so I gave up..........................reading"
Posted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 4:36 pm Post subject:
14 lb in open water and 20 lb in the sticks and guess what I still use ABU's.
Pretty Neanderthal ay
_________________ Happiness is having fishy fingers with a stiff rod in your hand!!!
The view expressed in this post is that of a self opinionated bullshitter and does not reflect that of the website owner, it's operators or anyone else for that matter.
Posted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 6:40 pm Post subject:
Daisy wrote:
14 lb in open water and 20 lb in the sticks and guess what I still use ABU's. Pretty Neanderthal ay
Hey Daisy, those Abu's are excellent reels mate , although they have been left behind a bit by Shimano and Daiwa on the technology side of things they are still a top class reel, especially the Swedish made ones. I have a lot of them and they all get a run every now and then.
_________________ Blinky
"I'd like to have a beer-holder on my guitar like they have on boats" "You want heavy?..............we'll give you heavy" James Hetfield
"Gus is dead.......we've got work to do" Walter White
Posted: Sun Sep 02, 2007 1:18 pm Post subject:
Yeah Blinky Iwas just going on the general consensus about the ABUs. I love mine upgraded drags to carbotex with cals lube and Know 'em inside out. Very easy to service.
The good wife bought me a calcutta 200b last year, very nice, but I'm certainly not as familiar with it's internals. I opened, it took one look and screwed it back together. Haven't been swayed yet.
_________________ Happiness is having fishy fingers with a stiff rod in your hand!!!
The view expressed in this post is that of a self opinionated bullshitter and does not reflect that of the website owner, it's operators or anyone else for that matter.
Posted: Sun Sep 02, 2007 1:47 pm Post subject:
I started off with a abu 6500 with 30lb fireline a few years back.
Then went to a millionare 250 with 20lb,
Then to a Calcutta 200B with 14lb which I find is big enough for even the big barra.
I still use the Abu for light snapper work and when firends need a reel.
One of the best combos I have used was a Diawa Team Viento with 8lb fireline, matched to a 4 - 6 kg baitcaster great for barra upto 80cm, but lacked punch when you need to control a bigger fish.
Currently have my eye on one of those new saltist HRF from diawa and perhaps a calcutta 50 with 8lb for lighter work.
Just bought a new saltist 50H which is a awesome reel for the money, heaps of drag pressure (22lb) and full metal construction. The cranking power is awesome, I have spooled it with 50lb Fireline and matched it to a 200 series Jig Stick 10-24kg, am looking to test it out on some big macks and maybe a sailfish next week when I come up.
I just bought a couple of 6 - 10kg T Curve baitcasters, one for me and one for my brother, these are great baitcasters for the money $169.
_________________ Cheers
BD
'May your fishing spots be silted and your hooks on backwards'
Posted: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:59 pm Post subject:
Just sat down and did the figures on your last post Brent. still get what I want out of the ABUs and fuel my boat. I think I need another job