Posted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 11:32 pm Post subject: Re: Ideal Hull/Motor for Fishing Jabiru Area
Advice I was give when I first started was "Don't go above 5 metres & don't go over 100 hp". The length was all about managing when on your own & HP was about costs involved for a day out. I started with a 4.65 with a 60Hp Mariner. Now have a 5m with a 90 Suzuki. Not much difference in the fuel consumption as the 90 is doing it easier. Really depends on how much you want to spend in regards to hulls & accessories.
Posted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 11:51 pm Post subject: Re: Ideal Hull/Motor for Fishing Jabiru Area
Haven't done it alone, though is definitely possible. The first boat (Trailcraft 465 with 60hp) was very slow to plane with a couple of others plus grog. Looked into all possibilities to get the hull re-rated, though was basically told by the original supplier to get a bigger boat to avoid chasing my tail. I was discussing bigger fuel tank (it had a 60 litre). their mechanic came out to let me know about the difficulties you can encounter when mucking around with weight distribution. I've now got a 5m GS. Was lucky that a mate was selling when I was checking this all out. There's a current post on how much they draw. I've been in 400mm, though am very cautious when doing this. As for Polly boats, I believe they're a fair bit heavier & need more HP as a result. Pretty sure there was a post on this last year. Do a Polly search & you should find it. Cheers
Bank:
Highscores:1
Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 12:12 am Post subject: Re: Ideal Hull/Motor for Fishing Jabiru Area
Depends where your majority fishing going to be i think...I have a SC Stesll 4.75 or there abouts due to the console with a 60hp 4st, and I love it, it gets me out the front of the South and can go all the way to the mini mini system or the East, If I am alone it does sit in the water a little on the lean, I just need to sort out the balance. My shift partner has just bought a tiller steer Sea Jay 4.55 with a 50hp Honda 4st. He went the tiller due to the ease during the runn off, plus the room available. He is 6" in length and not the smallest shoulders and he can lie the width of the boat on a overnighter with still half a meter between us both. We took it for a run out the mouth of the south also the other day and had no problems. Now I have seen it I do think I would prefer the tiller if I was doing a lot of solo fishing in the Billabongs, creeks but as soon as you get out I like standing up whilst steering just to take the pounding a bit with my legs not my back... Hope this helps,.,,, a little.
Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 12:19 am Post subject: Re: Ideal Hull/Motor for Fishing Jabiru Area
THanks Smed.
The GS hulls appear pretty good hulls.
It is interesting the difference in weight between the 4.8m and 5.0m GS hulls is only 25kg.
Hypothetically, if you were in the market for a brand new rig (with money no option, what hull/motor configuration woudl you choose to fish these water systems and at mouth of South Alligator River?
BarneyRubble -
How long does it take you to reach the mouth of Sth Alligator River?
Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 12:38 am Post subject: Re: Ideal Hull/Motor for Fishing Jabiru Area
I have a 5.2m hull with 100 hp 4 stroke and it uses less fuel than an old Johnston 25hp 2 stroke on a 3.6m vee punt I used to use. Mine will run in 400mm of water and float in about 250mm of water if I have the outboard up, handy for getting off a sandbar in shoal bay. I can handle it on my own with few problems though retrieving a snagged lure deep in the current with the wind blowing on ones own is something that I haven't mastered yet. And it's big enough for for people to fish out of if needed.
Ultimately the depth of water a boat draws will depend on weight of the hull and it's dead.
If you are planning to stay inshore on the billabongs you don't need a lot of dead rise (generally the more dead rise the better it can handle chop). A 4m to 5m boat with 30 to 100hp will be plenty big enough to keep you out of reach of lizards and with enough room to move about.
If you want to get into the really small remote billabongs a small roof topper and a 25hp that you can lift on and off might be a better option.
More important than length is what you do with that space. I've been in small boats that are roomy because the esky's and gear can sit under the floor and larger boats that feel cramped because they esky is out in the way. A decent sized casting clear deck is on most people's check list for chasing barra. Tiller vs console vs position (front, rear, center, side) is all a personal preference thing.
The best thing to do is go out in as many different boats as you can and figure out what works for you.
Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 12:38 am Post subject: Re: Ideal Hull/Motor for Fishing Jabiru Area
I'm incredibly biased..... I'd stick with what I've got. Heaps of comments about them being a wet boat offshore. Must admit that they can be, though am yet to go out in something that isn't. They've got the lot. If ever the donk gives up, I don't know if I'd go up to the 115 hp rating or not. Wait & see. They do seem to hold their value as well. Found the Polycraft post. They get a pretty good wrap. boats-motors-f10065/polycraft-t25234.html?hilit=polycraft
Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 12:54 am Post subject: Re: Ideal Hull/Motor for Fishing Jabiru Area
Went out with Doorsoff recently. He's got a new boat from NT Unique, which is very impressive. Worth having a look at their website & checking out the varying sizes & configurations as well. Definitely quality boats & workmanship.
Bank:
Highscores:1
Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 8:17 pm Post subject: Re: Ideal Hull/Motor for Fishing Jabiru Area
Takes us a good hour and a half...**DANGEROUS RIVER**, talking to a mate out here at work and he said he been fishing the river for a good 20years and he got beached the other day for the first time, everything changes so quickly GRRR. Well my experience and to what some others reckon the tillers are easy to handle when your pushing against the water (run off-specially comming out of Liechardt on the south) You can get there with a console but banging and crashing into logs++, you will be working your guts out no matter which one you get but tiller you will have a less a chance hitting poop. I have a SC and now thinking I should have got a tiller.
Splash wrote:
THanks Smed.
The GS hulls appear pretty good hulls.
It is interesting the difference in weight between the 4.8m and 5.0m GS hulls is only 25kg.
Hypothetically, if you were in the market for a brand new rig (with money no option, what hull/motor configuration woudl you choose to fish these water systems and at mouth of South Alligator River?
BarneyRubble -
How long does it take you to reach the mouth of Sth Alligator River?