Bt-50 or Ranger???

Tell us a camping story. Let us guess? You left the cooking oil and bog roll at home ...

Bt-50 or Ranger???

Bt-50 or Ranger?? Same car different brand and look, which do you prefer??

Big D

Re: Bt-50 or Ranger???

Post by Big D »

Ford has recalled 16000 Rangers. Tow problem, not ideal.

http://www.carsguide.com.au/news-and-re ... rigin=hpc1

That being said the Ranger is a very nice unit.
Strong like Mother Russia and as tight as a Guinea fowl's hamstring!

"The Sea, once it casts it's spell, holds one in its net of wonder forever." Jaques-Yves Cousteau

"The first guy through the wall always gets bl..dy"

"remember that in the water you are no longer the top of the food chain"
unseen1

Post by unseen1 »

let u know in a week seano, parents have the new bt50 and taking it for a spin from canberra to sydney.
googz

Post by googz »

hilux

the ranger looks 'cooler' than the bt, if you were to pimp the ranger up a bit even cooler I reckon

Hiluxes dont even come close to these beasty trucks- 147kw and 470nm of torque -standard with a rear diff lock and 800mm wading depth. 3500tonne towing capacity! s...ts all over a hilux.
Trier

Post by Trier »

Hi Seano,

I have no experience with either vehicle, but presuming you are set on either one or other of the above (as opposed to another brand/manufacturer), maybe the following questions will help give you the answer:

Are they built on the same production line? (eg. If one is built in Japan, and the other in the USA or Australia, then the answer is clear!!)

Are they basically the same price for the same spec. vehicle?

Do they both have the same warranty?

Are the bits of (factory or after-market) bling that you may want to add a similar price?

Do they both have the same depreciation/resale value?

- btw I would get a white one; a bit boring I know, but at least the marks that the cretins :fubird: leave when they bang their door into your vehicle leaving paint marks and dents down the side of your car will be less obvious and easier to fix! Plus the vehicle will stay cooler and suffer less fading than you might get with colored finishes.

Also, assuming it is an option, consider getting a drop-side tray rather than a well body. IMO while it may not look quite as flash, they are far more practical.

Hope this helps. :mrgreen:

Ash
-----------------

If it doesn't fit, get a bigger hammer and hit it harder!

'You can't have mudcrabs without mud'. My son John

Ash- thanks for the advice, I was actually considering a Extra cab Bt50 with a dropside tray, in silver or white.

BT50,,Out of the two ,,,but take a look at Tritons great warranty and after sales service,3ton tow ,,,good truck :mrgreen:

Triton Ive heard has a weak chassis and also the departer angle isnt too good.

Yeah, the triton hangs a long way fwd and bwd
Scarey

Post by Scarey »

Dad just bought a new Ranger.. The thing is a total beast. Before Buying we test drove The BT50 and the Ranger, The Ranger just felt like a nicer drive.
Scarey

Post by Scarey »

seano I,ve had mine about 10 years and wouldnt say its done any heavy off road
work.Its done 4 trips to Sydney 2 trips to Cooktown 1 to Broom about 50 to Dundee another 20 or so Gunn pt and never had a brake down ,,Just think they are a reliable truck ,,,But yes the Bt 50 pretty awsome been in a few ,the sons very happy with his ....

My mate has a bt50 auto and it couldnt hold 110km towing a 5m quinnie to south alligator which is a flat road He had to fuel up on the way home at bark hut as it chewed so much fuel labouring I towed my 4.4m boat to south Ali at 120km and would be lucky to have used 50litres !! In my hilux ..
Whether that's just an auto problem or not but it was a mates work ute so they gave it a flogging and it's was puss
Mates old boy has a bt 50 as a work it's and loves it. So who knows but I'd be going hilux ;)